Black Screen!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

llv17

Thread Starter
Joined
May 10, 2018
Messages
3
Hi,

I have a windows 8 Toshiba satellite laptop and I keep getting the reoccurring Black Screen!!!!. I will power on my laptop and the start up Toshiba logo will come on, and then after a min or 2 the screen will turn black and nothing else will happen. I have tried taking out the battery and holding down the power button for 60 seconds and re-inserting the battery but, nothing happened.

Any help will be great and very appreciated!

 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,548
Can you boot in safe mode? or in low resolution mode? (if the latter is a choice in Win8)
 

llv17

Thread Starter
Joined
May 10, 2018
Messages
3
Yes, I can boot into safe mode. I'm not sure what low resolution mode is...
 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,548
What I meant was. WHen in safe mode do you get the black screen? If not try to remove your graphics drivers from Control Panel --> Programs and Features. Then any reference to video card drivers. If none are present or when done, then remove the Graphics card from Device Manager. Answer Yes, to whether drivers should be deleted.
Prior to that though. Download the latest Graphics drivers either the Toshiba website. But do not install until you have removed all s/w related to your device as well as the device itself.

Low Resolution mode is a safe mode that boots in 640 x 380 or something like that. It may not exist on Win8, I do not remember seeing it there. But I am getting old and forgetful. :unsure:
 

llv17

Thread Starter
Joined
May 10, 2018
Messages
3
When in safe mode I do not get the black screen, and once I power up the laptop the only thing I can do is go to safe mode. The Toshiba start up screen comes up and the little circle goes around and around several times and the laptop goes to a black screen and I cannot do anything past that.
 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,548
Then please do as suggested earlier. After that, if it doesn't work we'll have to do some more serious troubleshooting.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top