1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BlackScreen and Auto Reboot During Games

Discussion in 'Games' started by Hughesey, Jun 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sick_Jargon

    Sick_Jargon

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    In the specifications for the Gigabyte GA-MA770-US3, I found this.

    "Memory: Support for DDR2 1333(OC)/1066(Note 3)/800/667 MHz memory modules"

    It shows no support for 400 MHz, so it could be that your memory just isn't up to gaming or maybe even some of the more common tasks. However, I can't make any promises that this is the key problem.

    Maybe sticks like this would be more appropriate: Mushkin Silverline DDR2 800MHz

    If you know any other way you can grab some sticks just to test your rig, that would be a nice plus.

    By the way, you haven't overclocked your rig at all have you?
     
  2. Hughesey

    Hughesey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    I am almost certain that the issue is not with Motherboard and RAM compatibility since i have had the ram since i bought the motherboard and i have never had any trouble until i bought my new gpu.

    also if i put in another gpu (my friends gts 240) the problem goes away so that leads me to believe it is the gpu, either bad ram or some kind of incompatibility.

    also i took the card back to the shop and they ran their tests but they could not reproduce the issue so i dont know
     
  3. Hughesey

    Hughesey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    i have not personally overclocked my system, but my graphics card is a factory OC card.

    also i left my computer after watching a movie with windows media player, came back to this (points to attached picture) this is the first time ive seen this.

    :(
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Sick_Jargon

    Sick_Jargon

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    You would be surprised at how different components interact lol.

    I had a 9500GT a while back, swapped it out for a HD 6770 and I was having problems quite similar to your own. The problem? My memory wasn't clocked right. :)

    It seems strange that your new graphics card would crash the rest of your system out when previously, it was working fine. You could try using OverDrive in the Catalyst Control Centre to underclock your GPU. However, make sure you only lower the clock speeds 20MHz each time, then test.

    So... Lower 20MHz -> Apply changes -> Run game -> See how it goes. Repeat this until you've reduced the clock speed by about 60MHz overall. If you have any issues doing this, just say and I'll try and provide more details.
     
  5. Hughesey

    Hughesey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    since my gpu was factory overclocked i have underclocked it to the same speed as the not overclocked version, still crashing ( non over clocked verson is 50 lower on both gpu core and memory)
     
  6. Sick_Jargon

    Sick_Jargon

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Well, I didn't want to put you through this but it's memtest time. ;)

    If you're unaware of what memtest is, it's a program that runs via your BIOS and performs diagnostics on your rigs memory and will usually spot any big issues with it.

    Option 1: Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)

    A file to be burned to a 'bootable' disk and started through the BIOS.

    Option 2: USB Installer

    If you have a USB stick available, this can usually make things much easier. I haven't used memtest in a while but I believe this program installs the necessary files to a USB drive so its available to boot through your BIOS.

    You can find detailed instructions on how to setup the USB drive here.

    Source: http://www.memtest.org/

    I haven't used memtest in a while so if you're looking for instruction, I'd suggest using the official forum here. Or maybe, one of TSG's more memtest experienced people will have some input. :)

    As a side note: This program takes a LONG time to do its thing, I mean, start it up and leave it over night long.

    If you have any further questions, fire away. I'm still placing bets on your RAM but we shall see mh?

    -SJ
     
  7. Hughesey

    Hughesey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    thank you i will run that tonight. i reinstalled windows last night to see if there was something conflicting with my system (drivers or progrmas etc) but now my graphics card wont show up, like in my gpu meters, or even in catalyst. however when i run a benchmark i still get same scores so it seems to be using it just not letting me get any info on it
     
  8. etekiller

    etekiller

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    When talking about the card working but not being detected by the OS I can say that I had similar problems with my sound card. It worked semi-fine, I mean it did work, but sometimes threw some errors. Funny thing was that OS didn't detect it at all... Problem lied in the way the card was plugged into the PCI socket - it wasn't fully plugged, I had to use a little bit of force to plug it fully in. What amazed me was the fact that the card actually played sound, but none of the software could detect it.

    It leads me to thinking that your problems may lie in the PCI-E/AGP socket not having a full connection with the graphics card. If you have 2 PCI-E/AGP sockets try your card on each of them, it's at least worth a shot to ensure that it's nothing wrong with the socket itself.
     
  9. Loui5D

    Loui5D

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    I have a 7950 and haven't had any reboots, what driver version are you using?
     
  10. Sick_Jargon

    Sick_Jargon

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Hi Loui5D,

    He has already updated his drivers as stated earlier in the thread.

    While you may not have issues with this particular graphics card, I'm sure you're not using exactly the same hardware or configuration as Highesey. So different issues can arise.
     
  11. Hughesey

    Hughesey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    apart from the not showign up in any of my gadgets now (only since i installed windows again) i am still getting the bsod 116 crash. this time even when im just going through the internet
     
  12. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Have you tried putting your old video card back in to see if it works? If it does then I would return the new one. If it doesn't work it would be the slot on the mobo.
     
  13. Hughesey

    Hughesey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    the old card works fine. always has. already took the new one back ages ago but they found no fault. also memtest had no luck
     
  14. Hughesey

    Hughesey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    okay update.
    reinstalled windows again.
    everything back to how it was at the start of this thread.
    Still crashing
    Latest Drivers
    Tried with only one hdd plugged in and still crashing so not a ps issue.
    im lost... :(
     
  15. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Can you try the 7950 in another computer?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1058235