1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blank Blue Screen

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by punisher101, Oct 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. punisher101

    punisher101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Hi,

    I'm getting blank blue screens on my computer everytime I play any 3D games: Freedom Fighter, Splinter Cell, Scarface, etc. During gameplay the screen will turn blank blue and reboot the computer after a couple of seconds. I have updated the drivers for everything on my computer: video card, sound card, windows updates. I have installed brand new RAM and Power Supply. This is also a fresh install of Windows.

    But the problem persists. I'm at a complete loss as to what is causing the problem.

    Found nothing in the Windows Event Viewer. I did get a dump file but I can't make any sense out of it (I have posted it below)


    Quick Specs:
    Motherboard: Asus P4C800-E Deluxe Motherboard
    CPU: Intel Pentium IV 3.2 Ghz (Intel Socket 478 – 400Mhz FSB) (Code: Willamette)
    RAM: 2GB (2 x 1GB)OCZ Special Ops XTC 1024MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz
    Video Card: ATI Radeon x700 - AGP
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
    Hard Drives: 2 x 250 GB Western Digital Caviar SATA & 320GB Western Digital EIDE
    Power Supply: Antec 480W TruPower-II


    DUMP FILE:

    ----- 32 bit Kernel Mini Dump Analysis

    DUMP_HEADER32:
    MajorVersion 0000000f
    MinorVersion 00000a28
    DirectoryTableBase 3f4db000
    PfnDataBase 81a83000
    PsLoadedModuleList 805624a0
    PsActiveProcessHead 805685b8
    MachineImageType 0000014c
    NumberProcessors 00000002
    BugCheckCode 1000007e
    BugCheckParameter1 c0000005
    BugCheckParameter2 bfb41ae6
    BugCheckParameter3 9af9fb8c
    BugCheckParameter4 9af9f888
    PaeEnabled 00000000
    KdDebuggerDataBlock 805522e0
    MiniDumpFields 00000dff

    TRIAGE_DUMP32:
    ServicePackBuild 00000200
    SizeOfDump 00010000
    ValidOffset 0000fffc
    ContextOffset 00000320
    ExceptionOffset 000007d0
    MmOffset 00001068
    UnloadedDriversOffset 000010a0
    PrcbOffset 00001878
    ProcessOffset 000024c8
    ThreadOffset 00002728
    CallStackOffset 00002980
    SizeOfCallStack 00000410
    DriverListOffset 00003020
    DriverCount 000000a4
    StringPoolOffset 000060d0
    StringPoolSize 000016f8
    BrokenDriverOffset 00000000
    TriageOptions 00000041
    TopOfStack 9af9fbf0
    DebuggerDataOffset 00002d90
    DebuggerDataSize 00000290
    DataBlocksOffset 000077c8
    DataBlocksCount 00000004


    Windows XP Kernel Version 2600 (Service Pack 2) MP (2 procs) Free x86 compatible
    Kernel base = 0x804d7000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0x805624a0
    Debug session time: Tue Oct 24 21:01:07 2006
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:03:44
    start end module name
    804d7000 806fd000 nt Checksum: 0020CA06 Timestamp: Tue Apr 11 20:55:42 2006 (443C500E)

    Unloaded modules:
    9aa20000 9aa43000 aec.sys Timestamp: unavailable (00000000)
    aebed000 aebee000 drmkaud.sys Timestamp: unavailable (00000000)
    9ac59000 9ac66000 DMusic.sys Timestamp: unavailable (00000000)
    9ab48000 9ab56000 swmidi.sys Timestamp: unavailable (00000000)
    af303000 af305000 splitter.sys Timestamp: unavailable (00000000)
    aee7b000 aee7f000 kbdhid.sys Timestamp: unavailable (00000000)
    f778f000 f7794000 Cdaudio.SYS Timestamp: unavailable (00000000)
    aee7f000 aee82000 Sfloppy.SYS Timestamp: unavailable (00000000)

    Finished dump check
     
  2. kniht

    kniht

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763
    Left click on My Computer, go to Properties, click on the Advanced Tab. Where you see Startup and Recovery click on settings. Where you see "System Failure" be sure the "Automatically Restart" box is unchecked.

    Next time your system crashes, instead of immediately rebooting, the blue screen that appears will stay on your desktop. Be sure to write down the information that is on this blue screen and post what it states. This will help diagnose what the problem may be.
     
  3. punisher101

    punisher101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    I disabled the auto restart on BSOD errors. But I am getting a completely Blank Blue screen there is no error message.

    I've attached the dump file. Not sure if that will make any difference in troubleshooting.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. kniht

    kniht

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    That particular minidump shows a crash in your ATI card. Could it be overheating?

    Have you overclocked it by any chance?



    BugCheck 1000007E, {c0000005, bfb41ae6, 9af9fb8c, 9af9f888}

    *** ERROR: Symbol file could not be found. Defaulted to export symbols for ati3duag.dll -
    Probably caused by : ati3duag.dll ( ati3duag!vGDI3DAATextOut+88906 )
     
  6. punisher101

    punisher101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Nope I have'nt overlocked the Video Card.

    And I don't think its memory issue because I installed brand new memory last night. Kniht I can't seem to connect to the link you sent me.
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Can you try different video card?

    You may be needing to RMA this particular ATI if it is not overheating.
     
  8. punisher101

    punisher101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Nope, it's not the video card. Changed out my video card to my old ATI 9800 PRO. I still experience the same blank blue screen crashing. (I made sure to uninstall the video drivers and reinstall them)
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    How about CPU overheating? BIOS set to defaults?

    Did you get any new minidumps after the change?
     
  10. punisher101

    punisher101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Here is the newest crash dump file. BIOS is up to date and its at its defaults.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    This is the same as the other. The "access violation" means the ATI driver is trying to access memory owned by something else.

    I don't know why you would get this on two different cards unless both were overheating.

    Does your motherboard have an onboard graphics chip that is not disabled?

    You might want to try the Omega version of ATI's drivers. Uninstall the ATI control panel application in Add/Remove programs first (and reboot) if you do. I believe they can be installed over the top -- although that's not the way I did it.

    Didn't improve my performance any -- but definitely gave sharper, clearer graphics for the same resolution using its default settings:

    http://www.omegadrivers.net/ati/ati_faq.php
     

    Attached Files:

  12. punisher101

    punisher101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Ok so I tried the Omega drivers for ATI (after removing all ATI software: drivers, control panel, etc). And they were a little more stable which means I could play my 3D game a little longer then before. However I still get the blank blue screen after a certain point.

    My motherboard does have an onboard graphics card however I have disabled it on the BIOS. I do have another ATI TV Wonder Video card in the PCI slot. Not sure if that would cause problems. Because its has no 3D graphics capabilities.

    I have attached another dump file.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    What you disabled in the BIOS is not detected and listed in the Device Manager and therefore would not be a problem.

    What is physically installed in a PCI slot IS detected, and even if disabled in the Device Manager is taking up resources -- you should definitely remove that.

    You may also have to remove "ghost" entries per the instructions here, see "remove unusued devices":

    http://www.tweakguides.com/ATICAT_4.html



    The latest dump is the same as the others.
     
  14. punisher101

    punisher101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    I pulled out the TV wonder pro. Then I removed all ATI drivers using Drivernet.Pro. Rebooted Reinstalled the drivers for the ATI x700. Unfortunately I got the same issue even with this card alone.

    BTW, I appreciate all your help Rollin Rog :)
     
  15. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Shoot, never seen anything like it.

    Can you reduce your settings in these games and not get an error?

    By the way, both these ATI cards require connections to the power supply right? I know the 9800 does because I used to have one. Are you sure you are hooked up correctly there?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/512492

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice