1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blank desktop and no start menu

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by kderco, Sep 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kderco

kderco Thread Starter

Hi Hopefully someone can help me. I have been on the phone with tech people the past 2 days. Yesterday when I went to sign on to my computer. I got a blue screen with hp invent in the right hand corner. Nothing else. I don't have a start menu/bar at the bottom of my computer and there is nothing on my desktop. I can sign on to AOL but only if I do ctrl-alt-delete and find AOL and then start it up from the very beginning. Can one of you wonderful people help me because I am a Realtor and I neeeeeeeeed my computer all day and some times all night. How do I get my desktop and start menu back. Please Help. Thank you!

2. mobo

mobo

Have you tried the safe mode route and tried getting to windows that way or last known good configuration ?

3. kderco

kderco Thread Starter

Yes I tried that! THanks!

4. mobo

mobo

Have you tried a repair with the xp cd rom ?

5. kderco

kderco Thread Starter

I am sort of brain dead. How do I do that?
    Kelly

6. Miz

Miz

More often than not, the symptoms you describe are due to video card drivers.

Go into Safe Mode, right click on My Computer, go to the Hardware tab, then the Device Manager button. Click on the plus sign to the left of Display Adapters. Right click on the adapter listed and choose Uninstall. There will be the usual Dire Warning...tell it OK or Yes or whatever it requires to make it shut up and go away. ;) Then reboot and let Windows reinstall the drivers.

Most of the time, that solves the "blank desktop on bootup" problem.

7. kderco

kderco Thread Starter

Thank you so much! I will try it now.
    Kelly