Blank screen after first installation reboot

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

djangojazz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
301
VerbalTachi said:
I ran the 32bit Vista RC1 DVD on boot and followed the on screen install setup. Formatted my 74GB Sata hard drive and I started installation. I got to the "Completing Installation" part and asked to restart, did that, loading windows screen booted up but after that my screen just goes black (monitor turned off) but I can still hear my hard drive working. I left it thinking that maybe it's still loading or installing for about 30 minutes and still nothing. So I turned it off and restarted and took me to the safe mode options.

I tried reinstalling again, maybe a bad first install but I still got the same result after. Anyone having or had the same problem before? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

~Jay

System:
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe Motherboard.
AMD Athlon 64 55-FX
x2 GeForce 6800GT in SLI mode.
Audigy 2 Gamer Edition.
2gig DDR2.
74GB SATA HD.
Same thing here, and everyone thinks it's just me not knowing how load an OS or something. When did you do your download? I did mine with the advice of Windows to use their Akkamai download 3rd party too. It loaded the same ISO everyone else seems to have. It installed to my 2nd harddrive but I get the black screen of death too. I thought: "It's a new OS Beta, maybe it's still installing instruction sets". Well I can say I let my harddrive and PC hum away for about an hour which was longer than the whole time it took to get to that point and nothing. I think I'm going to just order the DVD and see if that helps.

Does anyone know if you have the file system already set to the NTFS format for your harddisk but it has info on it already if that may cause this? Also the boot path I was told is defaulted to your C drive and on looking at my boot log it gives a warning to reset a boot.exe file. Well I'm glad I'm not the only one, people were starting to make me feel like I was nuts or something.

Also if you are just going to say "Well it worked for me" that's not really helping at all.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
79
if you can get into safe mode shut down computer F8 when starting up right click on my computer click on advanced tab start up and recovery on defalt operating system select vista or something not sure what it would say for vista because i dont use it hope this helps
 

djangojazz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
301
Will_5600 said:
if you can get into safe mode shut down computer F8 when starting up right click on my computer click on advanced tab start up and recovery on defalt operating system select vista or something not sure what it would say for vista because i dont use it hope this helps
Yeah the default OS is still XP, I tried to run all the command start modes for the OS, safe, debug mode, allowed unauthorized drivers, etc. All of them gave the black screen of death. I'm thinking it has to do with the bootlog and installing it to a 2nd disk not liking that. Hmmm do I really want to try to overwrite XP just to test a beta??? I don't know, maybe it would take over 8 hours to get my crap back if it doesn't work. Maybe when I get the disk I'll get that desperate, I'm going to mess around with MSDEDIT.exe boot Warning message I was seeing and if that doesn't help I'm done for a while with it.
 

djangojazz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
301
VerbalTachi said:
Ok I finally got it fixed, the cause of the black screen is the Nvidia drivers that Vista installs. I have SLI setup and the drivers that installs does not support it. So I just removed the 2nd card and viola! it booted up, dled the new drivers from nvidia website and installed my 2nd card and everything is fine. If anyone else is getting the black screen and does not have an SLI setup, you might want to re-install Vista and install updated video drivers before installing the OS.
I do not have SLI installed. At this point if you are sure that it works what would you do just have me reformat my 2nd harddrive and download the new drivers? Thanks for the tip though I'll try it regardless and let you guys know if I get in too.
 

djangojazz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
301
VerbalTachi said:
Ok I finally got it fixed, the cause of the black screen is the Nvidia drivers that Vista installs. I have SLI setup and the drivers that installs does not support it. So I just removed the 2nd card and viola! it booted up, dled the new drivers from nvidia website and installed my 2nd card and everything is fine. If anyone else is getting the black screen and does not have an SLI setup, you might want to re-install Vista and install updated video drivers before installing the OS.
That did not work since I have one card, if you try to download the driver while in XP it won't work it stops and says it's meant for Vista. I unplugged the cable and went to just the VGA and it didn't work. Hmmmm maybe I should take the card completely out, check that XP can run fine with my MOBO connection to the standard no fuss no special effects standard chipset driver first then I can eliminate it's not just Nvidia drivers for graphics. Ahhh well maybe I just wasn't meant to run Vista it seems.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2006
Messages
3
Try this, download the Nvidia Vista Drivers, Unpack them and Burn it to a CD. Reboot and insert your Vista DVD. There's a window that'll have an option to install drivers before Vista is installed in your PC. Install the drivers you downloaded and install Vista. Let me know if that works.

~Jay
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Even though it appears you're having the same problem, please start a new thread when you have a new issue. It's very difficult to keep two problems straight and who's working on what in a single thread.

I've created a new thread for your issue here.

Thanks for your cooperation.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2007
Messages
1
i had this same problem i have 2 ide hard drives and a sata hard drive i was trying to install it on my 80GB hard which i use for operating systems and the other 2 for my files i had no problems before with xp
i sat for hours trying to install vista i tried formating the drives several times then i removed the sata hard drive and tried a clean install and it worked 1st try without any problems at all
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top