Blank Screen w/ cursur?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

droid1975

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
14
Im not sure what happened,but when i boot my computer it loads up but hangs on a blank screen with my cursur usable.I can only access my files through task manager by using new task option and opening IE6. Can someone give me a clue? Im limited to what I can do because I have no Start Button available.I Do Have WinXP Pro Disk!
 

droid1975

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
14
"Cannot find explorer.exe" now what?

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 8:19:20 AM, on 6/28/2007
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\awafeoir.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\LightScribe\LSSrvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ulead Systems\DVD\ULCDRSvr.exe
C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Common\ViewpointService.exe
C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Viewpoint Manager\ViewMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\WgaTray.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\msiexec.exe
F:\Program Files\Hijackthis\HijackThis.exe
 

droid1975

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
14
That didnt work either,I also did a search for it and all it found was EXPLORER.EXE-05416907.pf
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
That's just what I asked you:

"That sounds like it is in the prefetch directory. Is that correct?"

So that is correct? It is in the Prefect directory?
 

droid1975

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
14
EXPLORER.EXE-05416907.pf is 93kb, can i rename this file to explorer.exe and place it in C:/windows? Im not sure what prefetch is.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Yes a virus could have been the cause of the problem.

But I wouldn't try copying and then renaming that file just yet.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top