1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

blank screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dumbdumb, Feb 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dumbdumb

    dumbdumb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    my screen blank out for 10 seconds after every 10 minutes and come back on. what's worng with it? Is it the mother board or the graphic card? My mother board does not have graphic card. is is the CPu? Please help. I don'tknow what it is? I want to try to replace the right one. Can I just ignore and not replace it. Beside of being annoying, will it do any harm or should i replace it.

    thanks for all the help I can get.:confused:
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    See if you can try another Monitor ......from a friend.

    Does it do it in Safe mode

    1. Restart your computer.
    2. When the machine first starts again it will generally list some equipment that is installed in your machine, amount of memory, hard drives installed etc. At this point you should gently tap the F8 key repeatedly until you are presented with a Windows XP Advanced Options menu.
    3. Select the option for Safe Mode using the arrow keys.
    4. Then press enter on your keyboard to boot into Safe Mode.
     
  3. dumbdumb

    dumbdumb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    It does wtih another monitor too. will try in safe mode tonight and let you know
     
  4. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Do you mean your Video card is built in to the motherboard......
     
  5. dumbdumb

    dumbdumb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    No, as I have mentioned above. My mother board does not have a graphic card built in. I have a graphic card put in, agp4/8x-6800 type
     
  6. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Understood.....

    Take it out and Re-seat it and blow the slot out too
     
  7. dumbdumb

    dumbdumb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    does not work, I don't know what's wrong. try another graphic card, do the same too. what do you thing is wrong/ I don't want to buy something and replace the wrong thing. fyi already replace a new power supply and a case because they were bad, tested it.
     
  8. VAComputerSvcs

    VAComputerSvcs

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Have you made any system changes recently, like upgrading drivers?

    I suggest trying to reinstall your video drivers because it shouldn't be doing that. What graphic card do you have, and I can help point you in the right direction?
     
  9. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    I would take out your video card and just run the onboard one and see how it runs.....you may have to go to Bios to en able it.
     
  10. dumbdumb

    dumbdumb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    I guess you didn't read my answer and my first question before. I don't have a graphic on board
     
  11. dumbdumb

    dumbdumb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Nothing has been change at all. It is PNY ge force 6800
     
  12. dumbdumb

    dumbdumb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    did that too, nothing works
     
  13. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Have you got another Video card you can try?
     
  14. dumbdumb

    dumbdumb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    already try that too
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543384

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice