Blocking Apps on networks

deetell

I believe I have a problem with my server blocking certain apps.

I am a septugenarian resident in a nursing home but I am able to manage my own accounts etc. Also, I am a former IT professional on NCR Century hardware (Cobol) through to PC support mainly Windoze so I do know a lot of stuff.

I believe the server of my nursing home or the servers of the ISP are preventing some of my important apps from connecting.

I am able to get the connections if I load a VPN but I should not have to do this.

The ISP is Vocus. I am unable to get access to the building's modems or routers and at this stage I'm prevented from talking to Vocus.

I am working on getting access to the gear or the people. I would appreciate some suggestions of what I can put to the management's advisors around settings.

cwwozniak

Chuck
Hi deetell, and welcome to TSG.

You need to talk with whoever is managing the facility's network and Internet access. They may have filters in place to prevent access to certain websites or certain types of content for the safety of the residents and other reasons. If they are not doing so, they may be able to figure out why the sites are being blocked and open up access to them.

This thread is being closed, as our site rules prohibit assisting with bypassing company security policies.

EDIT: After further consideration, this thread will remain open to offering suggestions from members on how to discuss the situation with management.

Last edited:

Xsage

Dave
I'm sure the nursing home likely has some acceptable use policy for residents and guest using their network and there is the possibility the apps you are using may be violating those. I would suggest your ask for them to provide the acceptable use policy to you so you can determine if what you are trying to do could be violating them.