1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blue Screen 2-3 times a day while playing video files (Ati Radeon 3870)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tsggg, Jul 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tsggg

    tsggg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    [B[/B]Hi folks:

    I am very very grateful to any forthcoming help.

    I got a new computer built in the summer of 2008, and ever since then intermittently (and this is the exact way it happens every time), I will play a video file and inside the movie player will turn into a rainbow like grid. Then my mouse will turn into two arrows, and then I know I have some 15 seconds to reboot, or the computer will go to its blue screen; it's the same pattern every time. This is starting to bug me. This has never happened without somehow instigating video files: period.

    I have some logs I can share from Window 7's "problem details"
    If perhaps this issue needs to be placed in a different forum, or I need to go to a different website altogether, please let me know and I will gladly do so.

    Thanks again!

    Linda


    Description
    A problem with your video hardware caused Windows to stop working correctly.

    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: LiveKernelEvent
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 4105

    Files that help describe the problem
    WD-20100718-0905.dmp
    sysdata.xml
    WERInternalMetadata.xml

    View a temporary copy of these files
    Warning: If a virus or other security threat caused the problem, opening a copy of the files could harm your computer.

    Extra information about the problem
    BCCode: 117
    BCP1: FFFFFA800ACF30F0
    BCP2: FFFFF880042CF40C
    BCP3: 0000000000000000
    BCP4: 0000000000000000
    OS Version: 6_1_7600
    Service Pack: 0_0
    Product: 768_1



    Description
    A problem with your video hardware caused Windows to stop working correctly.

    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: LiveKernelEvent
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 4105

    Files that help describe the problem
    WD-20100718-0905-01.dmp
    sysdata.xml
    WERInternalMetadata.xml

    View a temporary copy of these files
    Warning: If a virus or other security threat caused the problem, opening a copy of the files could harm your computer.

    Extra information about the problem
    BCCode: 117
    BCP1: FFFFFA800ACB7010
    BCP2: FFFFF880042CF40C
    BCP3: 0000000000000000
    BCP4: 0000000000000000
    OS Version: 6_1_7600
    Service Pack: 0_0
    Product: 768_1


    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 4105

    Extra information about the problem
    BCCode: 116
    BCP1: FFFFFA800ACB7010
    BCP2: FFFFF880042CF40C
    BCP3: 0000000000000000
    BCP4: 0000000000000002
    OS Version: 6_1_7600
    Service Pack: 0_0
    Product: 768_1
     
  2. daz1

    daz1 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,664
  3. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
    Hi and welcome to TSG this is about your error code try updating your driver failing that attach your dump files to your post and someone here can run it through a debug this may help narrow down the issue
    Bug Check 0x117: VIDEO_TDR_TIMEOUT_DETECTED

    The VIDEO_TDR_TIMEOUT_DETECTED bug check has a value of 0x00000117. This indicates that the display driver failed to respond in a timely fashion
     
  4. tsggg

    tsggg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hi Daz1:

    Thanks for your help. Sorry. I forgot to mention my buddy did try to update the drivers last month, but to no avail.
    Thanks for your help. I downloaded atitool. I stared at the carpet (clicking "scan for artifacts" for about 3 minutes), but did not notice anything fuzzy. I checked the software a bit, but I am UNSURE how to set my clock back by 5%. Can I access that in my catalyst control center for the ati card itself?? If so where and how? Thanks again!
     
  5. tsggg

    tsggg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hi Joeten:

    I appreciate your help, but I am unsure how to access these dump files??? I only know the when the screen goes blue it shows some stuff, but I am unsure how to get what your looking for. Any ideas?

    Thanks again!~
     
  6. daz1

    daz1 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,664
  7. tsggg

    tsggg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hi Daz1:

    It said windows didn't recognize the driver because it wasn't signed. I kept installing it anyways (bypassing and allowing), and ran the program. It also said "Kernel mode driver does not seem to be running". Anyways, bypassing all that the program worked (scan for artifacts was fine", but the "set clock" "default" "max" "min" "core" and "memory" functions are all visible but unclickable. Any advice? I will install the new drivers, however, my friend tried it before and it did nothing.

    Thanks again!
     
  8. daz1

    daz1 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,664
  9. daz1

    daz1 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,664
    when drivers are installed re boot, try atitool not to use but to see if working now, not digitally signed is wrong driver, wrong version, your windows 7 not up to date etc etc

    go to ccc advanced and card can be underclocked from there but not needed at moment think its called overdrive
     
  10. tsggg

    tsggg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hi daz1:

    Thanks again...

    1.When you wrote "download the full driver package catylst suite, you need bit more ifno than radeon" what did you mean? I just installed the drivers for radeon hd 3XXX series , ie, 3780 (64 bit), and that seemed to go well. You want me still go for YOUR link or disregard?

    2. I open the ccc and in overdrive the gpu clock is at 776mhz (max 885), and the memory clock is at 1126Mhz (max 1126). Am I to drop both by 5%?

    Thanks~~
     
  11. daz1

    daz1 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,664
    no not if all working now, but is a method you can use in future for video issues, 99.9 % are driver related though
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/936828

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice