1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blue screen error when trying to boot a new system with old hard drives

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by daduvab, Sep 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. daduvab

    daduvab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    I just built a new system anI moved over my slave and master hard drive and my old cd-rom drive from my previous system (new one I wanted to wait to install).

    I went into set up to make sure everything was ok and it all looks good: Master and Slave hard drives are detected and correct, all the RAM is detected and everything looks good. When it goes to boot I get the following error message:

    "Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt
    \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM

    You can attempt to repair by starting windows setup using the original setup cd-rom

    Select 'r' at the first setup screen to start repair"

    So I load the setup cd-rom and set to boot from disk and get the blue

    Windows Setup
    ===========

    screen and down below it appears to be working and down at the bottom is says"

    "Setup is loading files"

    and flashes through all the files it's loading.

    (BTW at no point am I given the option to select 'r' and pressing the r button at any point or throught the process does nothing)

    Then it says "Setup is starting windows"

    The screen goes black and I get a blue "stop" screen:

    "A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

    If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

    Check to be sure you have adequate disk space.* If a driver is identified in the stop message....**

    Check with your hardware vendor for any BIOS updates. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing.*** If you need to use safe mode to...****

    Technical information:

    *** STOP: 0X0000007E (0XC0000005, 0X8070E9A77, 0XF78D9E20, 0XF78D9E20)

    (no idea what this is)

    *I do. Master is 70gigs with plenty of space and Slave is 40 gigs. I've tried to have both as slave or master to no avail.
    ** One is not so I skip this.
    *** Can't find these anywhere in BIOS.
    **** How to disable hardware in sm. I can't think of any hardware I'd need to disable....

    ANY help is appreciated.


    Rig:

    AMD Athlon 64 3000+
    Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
    XFX GeForce 7800 GT
    Maxtor Diamond 70 gig HD (Master)
    Fujitsu 40 gig HD (slave)
    2 gig Corsair Ram
    Cooler Master Aquagate Liquid Cooling system
    Seasonic S12 600W PSU
    Cooler Master Cavalier 1 case

    I had the hard drives with windows installed and the CD-Rom drive on my old rig. Everything else is new.

    Thanks again!

    postscript: I've swapped out RAM and changed and re-changed the hard drive system to no avail.
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    The Hardware Abstraction Layer is most likely different from your old computer so it is not going to boot. What were the specs on your old computer.
     
  3. weslee

    weslee

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    I've recently had this problem, and the bottom line on it all comes down to the fact that you're PROBABLY not going to get it working unless you actually install windows on the computer with all the new hardware in it. There's always the chance of a work around, but it could be very time consuming, and I'm not sure of one at the moment.

    Something as "touchy" as the boot sector(s) and all that on your hard drive do not make the transfering process that you're doing very easy.

    Good luck though!!
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
  5. daduvab

    daduvab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you all for responding...

    "The Hardware Abstraction Layer is most likely different from your old computer so it is not going to boot. What were the specs on your old computer."

    Umm old, garbagy 2000 system?

    I really only know I had about a 4 year old AGP system with a GeForce2, a <1gig pentium processor and 512 RAM. This is my first BIY and I'm learning most as I go. It's been four years since my last system was built.

    "Try a repair installation:"

    Yeah that's what I try to do but just before I get to the screen where I can choose the repair option I get the blue screen....
     
  6. Wolfeymole

    Wolfeymole

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740
    As Squashman and Weslee said dad your hdds are not recognising the "New" hardware in that pc as they have been loaded with the old hardware parameters.
     
  7. daduvab

    daduvab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Well , it turns out I was wrong. I thought there was nothing wrong with the RAM because BIOS detected 2024 megs. Well it turns out even though all the sticks were detected one was faulty. Once that was taken out everything ran fine and windows reinstalled.

    Thanks for all your help!
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Thanks for letting us know.

    If you're satisfied that this thread is done, you can mark the thread "solved" using the Thread Tools above.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/399386

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice