1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blue screen of death, BAD_POOL_CALLER

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by CyberFog, Jul 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Hi,

    I'm having windows xp service pack 3 issues.

    I started the computer this morning and all of a sudden there is a blue screen of death.

    Yesterday it worked fine.

    I tried with F8 and selected all of the options (including safe mode), but it keeps showing.

    Technical information showing is:
    *** STOP: 0x000000c2 (0x00000043, 0xD90DF000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

    Beggining dump of physical memory.
    Physical memory dump completed.

    I'm not having desktop access at all.

    What could be the reason for this?
     
  2. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Could I get some help for this? I'm using this computer for work.
     
  3. Ihatecats

    Ihatecats Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    359
    Attach your minidump files in your next reply.

    http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Noteboo...es/td-p/253475


    Please download MINITOOLBOX and run it.

    Checkmark following boxes:


    List last 10 Event Viewer log
    List Installed Programs
    List Users, Partitions and Memory size
    List Devices (problems only)



    Click Go and post the result.
     
  4. Ihatecats

    Ihatecats Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    359
  5. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Hi Ihatecats,


    Thank you for your response.

    I managed to get the computer work in safe mode by logging in as the administrator.

    I uploaded results.txt and minidump files.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Ihatecats

    Ihatecats Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    359
    Ok i see a few issues with your machine.Please do the following..........

    1.Uninstall Avg from your machine.
    http://majorgeeks.com/AVG_Remover_d7000.html

    Also uninstall Spybot from your machine as it is useless.


    2. 1 Drive c: () (Fixed) (Total:111.78 GB) (Free:3.56 GB) NTFS The amount of free space that is on your machine is not acceptable you need to have 15 gigs free on your machine.

    http://w3.win.tue.nl/nl/onderzoek/onderzoek_informatica/visualization/sequoiaview//

    http://www.jam-software.com/treesize_free/

    3.Run a check disk on your machine. Hit the windows key and R at the same time then type cmd in the run box then when the command prompt opens you will need to type or copy and paste the contents of the code box into the command prompt window and hit enter then reply Y when asked to shceudule on next reboot then type exit and then reboot your machine.

    Code:
     chkdsk /r
    Also have you ever opened the side of the tower and cleaned the dust with a can of compressed air?Re-seat your hardware components when you are inside of the machine.


    When you get everything up and going again then I suggest that you install
    Avast or Avira antivirus.
     
  7. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Uninstalling avg and running checkdisk didn't work. Blue screen of death is still there.
    I have never used can of compressed air for dusting and all components are properly sloted.
     
  8. Ihatecats

    Ihatecats Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    359
    Have you cleared up the free space as suggested??? Windows will most likely continue to bluescreen until you have the required 15% Free space.


    Also open the side of your tower and look to see if there is a lot of dust because this can definitly cause bluescreen crashes as well.

    Another thing you say that the components are properly sloted.I have had personal experience with blue screens on my machine could not figure it out for the longest just re-seating my ram solved the issue.I have helped in forums for years and sometimes it is the simple things that we over look that can cause the greatest issues.

    One more thing you might say to your self well I have had this much free space for a while now so what is the big deal now??? Just clear up the space and clean the machine and re-seat the harware. As I suggested and if it bluescreens from there then post the last three minidump files in your next reply.
     
  9. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    I already did as you asked.

    There is 25 GB free on the disc.

    The computer was dusted recently by professionals at the local informatic store and I opened it there is no dust in there.

    I checked the ram(and re-inserted it) as the other hardware. Everything is sloted.

    I checked the minidumps and one file error repeats. It says in all of them that ntoskrnl.exe is causing it.
    What does that mean?
    Here are the last three minidumps.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Ihatecats

    Ihatecats Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    359
    How long did check disk run and did it find any errors?
     
  11. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64

    Check disc ran for at least 3 hours or more. It found errors(three, something(128, "")) and it went through all 5 stages reaching 100 percent.
     
  12. Ihatecats

    Ihatecats Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    359
  13. Ihatecats

    Ihatecats Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    359
    Also you should run check disk again this time run chkdsk /f it is quicker.Just to be sure that everything is fixed.

    Also can you please tell me the exact make and model of your machine.


    Also please Download UnknownDeviceIdentifierand post the log it Creates in your next reply.
    Run the program allow it to finish then hit file> save > Save the file to desktop.The default file name will be DeviceList Attach Device list in your next reply.

    Please go here and download Speccy run the program and when it is finished Hit File >>>>>>Publish Snap Shot>>>> A link will pop-up on your desktop please post it here in your next reply.
     
  14. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    It says your version of windows does not support the update you are trying to install. Probably because I have windows xp
    and this is for windows server.
     
  15. Ihatecats

    Ihatecats Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    359

    Oops wrong fix let me search for the xo version back soon.Also Have you checked to make sure that your hard drive is plugged in firmly.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1059617