1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

blue screen of death unable to boot in safe mode

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by sasinspain, Nov 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sasinspain

sasinspain Thread Starter

I have a Sony VGC VA1 running Windows XP Pro Media. When I switch on I get the blue screen saying a problem has been detected. Various error codes beginning 0x000, but these seem to change. Unable to start in safe mode and unable to recover from recovery discs. System tries and recognises the recovery disc, but ends up back at the blue screen. Please has anyone any ideas what I can try next. If so would be eternally grateful, but please bear in mind I am a complete beginner. Many thanks in advance

2. blues_harp28

blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

Hi and welcome.
    Do you have the original Install Cd?
    The recovery disks [should they load] will take it back to factory settings and all data etc will be lost.

Boot from the Xp install Cd...when prompted press [R]
    Choose Windows installation [typically by pressing [1]
    When prompted for password.
    Press Enter.
    Type chkdsk /r [note space ]
    When fininshed.
    Type Exit
    And press Enter.

If no joy - repeat the above and type
    chkdsk /f

Blue screens can be cause by..
    New hardware - software installed.
    Device driver - Video etc - corrupted - faulty.
    Faulty Ram - overheating - dying hard drive etc.

3. sasinspain

Hi many thanks for reply.
    Dont have xp installation disc as it came preloaded, all I have is the recovery discs.
    Dont mind if I wipe everything as long as I can get the pc up and running.

4. blues_harp28

If your Sony VGC VA1 has a hidden recovery partition.