1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blue screen of death! win32k.sys

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by flurryicy, Dec 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. flurryicy

    flurryicy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Hi

    I am experiencing BSOD: win32k.sys.

    I could not boot into windows in any mode (safe mode...)

    Is there any way I can fix this problem and boot into windows as I need to recover my files back?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. zabusant

    zabusant

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,584
    Try booting from your windows cd - you'll have to change the settings in BIOS setup to be able to do this. Restart, press Delete or sometimes F2 - in BIOS setup, change the boot sequence to cd first :)
    Then in with the CD and boot up! Hopefully:)
     
  3. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    I've seen this caused by two things

    Faulty RAM

    Bad windows installation
     
  4. flurryicy

    flurryicy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    erm...I dun hav the windows cd. I only hav the reformat disk which installs the new windows xp when I reformat...

    Is there any way to fix this win32k.sys ?
     
  5. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
  6. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    if you just need some files from there get a USB enclosure for your hardrive then connected to a nother computer.

    also The behavior may occur if the win32k.sys is corrupted. Go to
    C:\WINDOWS\System32 and rename the Win32k.sys file to Win32k.old and then
    close the window. Now go back to the system32 folder and you will have a
    new and non-corrupt Win32k.sys file

    you can do that from another pc or from the recovery console
     
  7. flurryicy

    flurryicy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Mind if I ask how can I change the name from recovery console?
     
  8. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    The Recovery Console is usually accessed from the original Windows installation CD. Alternatively, Recovery Console can be accessed from the boot menu but only if it has been preinstalled on your system.

    so for you to rename that file the only way is if you have the windows CD. or do it from
    another machine. or download a repair boot disk like UBCD4Win
     
  9. devil_himself

    devil_himself

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,910
    Try Resetting you Ram ...to Another slot and try booting in normal mode
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/658464