1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blue Screen of DEATH

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by AgentJones, Sep 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AgentJones

    AgentJones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    I'm running windows XP and am getting a BSOD pretty frequently. Most of the time it says PAGING ERROR IN NON PAGED AREA. I've been getting these for a while and cant figure out why they are happening. I've reinstalled windows many times and replaced almost all the hardware. The only pieces i havent upgraded are the Processor, RAM, and CDRW. Games also quit to desktop after 10-15 min, no errors, just disapears and i'm at the desktop. Anyone know how to fix this?
     
  2. Mr_Webmaster

    Mr_Webmaster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    How much RAM do you have, and download and install HijackThis and post the log here.
     
  3. AgentJones

    AgentJones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    i have 512 DDR pc 2100
    HijackThis:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.96.2
    Scan saved at 9:03:06 PM, on 9/17/2003
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\wuauclt.exe
    D:\Programs\Trillian\trillian.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    D:\Programs\Winamp3\winamp3.exe
    D:\Download\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/bonnie/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/0fb5e03023def1/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37867.7262847222
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
     
  4. Mr_Webmaster

    Mr_Webmaster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    I don't see anything that shouldn't be there. Did you try turning off the Paging file, you have enough RAM, you may not need it.
     
  5. AgentJones

    AgentJones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    How do i turn off paging file?
     
  6. AgentJones

    AgentJones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    also, I'm thinking about upgrading my processor to a barton 3000+ (400fsb) and getting some crucial pc3200 ram. would this have any effect on my problem?
     
  7. Mr_Webmaster

    Mr_Webmaster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    The more RAM you have, the better.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165535

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice