1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blue Screen Of Death.......

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by solidone, Jul 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. solidone

    solidone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    hi

    I keep getting the blue screen of death.

    I am running an HP desktop with a 2.2Gz AMD athlon and XP pro

    How can I tell if this is a hardware problem such as a bad piece of memory, or a software problem?

    thanks

    solidone
     
  2. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Look in C:\Windows\Minidump for files with a DMP extension. ZIP some recent ones and post here as an attachment. The dump files can be anaylyzed to help find the problem.
     
  3. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    For starters, is there any error message when you get the blue screen?
     
  4. solidone

    solidone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    it seems like the regular 'blue screen of death' and it sets off into checking the memory. I can not if there is more next time it happens.

    john
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    I wasn't aware of a regular blue screen of death. Typically you get an error message displayed which helps isolate the source.
     
  6. solidone

    solidone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    It just seems like the same bad news screen as I have seen over the years.
    It goes into a memory checking mode, I believe.
    Next time it happens I will make careful note

    Thank you very much for your help.
    Perhaps you know the answer to my other problem.

    check out

    disk structure is corrupted and unreadable.....


    thanks

    john
     
  7. solidone

    solidone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    here are my dmp files from c:\windows\minidump
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    I looked at the last six errors. They seem to be completely random which usually indicates a hardware problem rather than a driver or file proble.

    I would run a memory test next to make sure RAM is good. http://memtest.org/#downiso

    EDIT: EAcceleration Stop-sign Products Firewall also is NOT recommended, and may be malware. I would ditch it and use a known trustworthy firewal such as Zone Alarm.

    ========================

    07/04 error:
    BugCheck D1, {0, 2, 8, 0}
    Unable to load image fwcore.sys, Win32 error 2
    IMAGE_NAME: fwcore.sys
    ----------------------
    06/26 error:
    BugCheck D1, {0, 2, 8, 0}
    Unable to load image fwcore.sys, Win32 error 2
    IMAGE_NAME: fwcore.sys
    ----------------------
    06/22 error:
    BugCheck 7F, {d, 0, 0, 0}
    Probably caused by : ntkrpamp.exe ( nt!KiSystemFatalException+f )
    IMAGE_NAME: ntkrpamp.exe
    ----------------------
    06/21 error:
    Log is garbage
    ----------------------
    06/20 error:
    BugCheck D1, {af, 5, 0, f73d85ed}
    Unable to load image BUS.SYS, Win32 error 2
    IMAGE_NAME: ntkrpamp.exe
    ----------------------
    06/18 error:
    BugCheck 1000008E, {c0000005, 0, b842d894, 0}
    Probably caused by : ntkrpamp.exe ( nt!ObGetObjectSecurity+96 )
    IMAGE_NAME: ntkrpamp.exe
     
  9. solidone

    solidone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    I will check my memory next.
    I had zone alarm, however it conflicted with my webroot spysweeper.

    what do you use 4 malware?

    john
     
  10. downtownoffice1

    downtownoffice1

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    I'm not sure what the Blue Screen of Death is, but this morning we started having problems with our Westinghouse LCD monitor. It's got a bluish tint to it. We reboot it and it's fine for about 30 minutes but then go back to the bluish tint. We're running Windows XP and never had this problem before. Any ideas?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/596041

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice