Blue screen of Death

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Camaro

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
14
Hey everyone
i have exhausted everything i can think of
i have the blue screen of death and have run lots of virus scans with multiple virus scanners but nothing has prevailed
The reason i have this is because i accidentally unplugged it during startup.
i did a system restore to the day before i got the blue screen but it still kept popping up.
I would reformat the system but i have no windows XP disc
i have heard that dells can reformat without the disc (have no idea just know u press certain key combinations)
if you know what i should do please help me
and also i was thinking of doing a system restore to the day i installed windows xp
but i dont know if that would work or not.


thanks in advance

EDIT--- by the way im able to still use the computer but i am in safemode so yea it sucks
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Look in C:\Windows\Minidump for files with a DMP extension. ZIP some recent ones and post here as an attachment. The dump files can be anaylyzed to help find the problem.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
It is difficult to do without experience, I was hoping you would zip the files and post them here.

But if you want to give it a try on your own, I use a utility named "Debugwiz" available here: http://www.windowsbbs.com/showthread.php?p=175971

You need to download and install the debug tools from Microsoft and the debugwiz utility, both described in the website post. Run debugwiz and locate the DMP file you want it to run the debug tool on..
 

Camaro

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
14
nvm i didnt read all of your post i posted the files for you
please analyse them i sure as hell cant
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Those are from December 2006 and February this year. Do you have anything more recent? (also check your PC clock and make sure it shows the correct date).
 

Camaro

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
14
well ive been running in safemode since december maybe thats it?december is when it started getting blue screen
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Both errors are in NETFLTDI.SYS which is a part of Panda Internet Security.

If you are having BSOD problems for this long I would uninstall it and then try reinstalling. Or use other antivirus\antispyware\firewall products such as AVG Free and Zonealarm.
+++++++++++++
December 13 error:
BugCheck 1000000A, {166, 2, 0, 804e5433}
Unable to load image NETFLTDI.SYS, Win32 error 2
IMAGE_NAME: NETFLTDI.SYS
------------------
February 11 error:
BugCheck 1000000A, {166, 2, 0, 804e5433}
Unable to load image NETFLTDI.SYS, Win32 error 2
IMAGE_NAME: NETFLTDI.SYS
 

Camaro

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
14
so just uninstall it and restart to see if blue screen is still their?
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
You could do that, but unplug from the Internet first... until you can install another antivirus program in it's place. It is not so urgent if you have a router between your modem and PC, but I have seen PCs connected directly to a modem with no antivirus can get a virus in as little as 15 minutes.
 

Camaro

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
14
thank you soooooo much
you have no idea what its like 6 months in safe mode
i just did a virus scan and i got 158 viruses found
healed all succesfully
ill never unplug my computer again lol
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Let us know how it goes. I suspect after six months everything may not be fixed so you might want to post a HijackThis log.

Click here to download HJTInstall.exe: http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en-US/threat_analytics/hijackthis.php?page=download
Save HJTInstall.exe to your desktop.
Doubleclick on the HJTInstall.exe icon on your desktop.
By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis .
Click on Install.
It will create a HijackThis icon on the desktop.
Once installed, it will launch Hijackthis.
Click on the Do a system scan and save a logfile button. It will scan and the log should open in notepad.
Click on "Edit > Select All" then click on "Edit > Copy" to copy the entire contents of the log.
Come back here to this thread and Paste the log in your next reply.
DO NOT have Hijackthis fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless or even required.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top