1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

blue screen of death

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by brokenwindows, Oct 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brokenwindows

brokenwindows Thread Starter

Hi everyone, new member long time miserable pc user:eek:

I have tried to do some searches but most of what is on here is a little over my head so please start slow. I am a mechanic and have dabbled in computers but have virtually no experience with the software side of this, yet!

its a dell dimension 4600 pentium 4 1.93 GB of RAM My friend helped me with the RAM upgrade. not sure what else you need. windows xp

my problem is it goes to the blue screen and I have had a few different errors, mostly its
    Page fault in a non paged area.

also get
    memory management
    irql (?)not less than or equal to - sorry don't remember exactly on this one
    and a few others.

I have checked the fans inside and it was dirty and slow now it much faster but not fixed
    I have run in safe mode and it still quits, from the searches it seems like a driver but I don't know how to post the dump or where to find it.

seems like anytime it has a bit of work to do it quits. just turning it on and leaving it- it will run fine.

tried to do a windows memory check and it was failing all the tests but it shut down before it finished.

this has taken about 5 attempts just to setup an account and post this- aarrrrghhhh!

any help is greatly appreciated- I am just to the point where it is rediculous to keep taking it in to be fixed, so I am very determined to do it myself. thanks in advance. TOM

2. staticbyte

staticbyte

try taking out one of the memory modules , see if it stabalizes. if its failing the memory test then memory is a good starting point i guess.