Blue screen (Possibly drivers fault)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Conspi

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
14
Hi, when I try to boot up my computer I get a blue screen right after the windows is loaded. It just flicks up for a second so I cannot see what it says. It does same with safe mode.

I'm not sure, but I think it is caused by display driver I tryied to install. I got a nVidia 8600GT-m card, and nVidia doesn't provide official driver for it, it must come from the vendor or I need to use modified driver. The driver that came from the vendor didn't support some of the openGL functions and gave error when I tried to run stuff on higher resolution, so I thought I should try out modified driver. I think I got it from site called something like laptopgraphicsgo or something like that.. after I tried to install that and it didn't seem to do anything at first, didn't show any window or didn't require restart itself.
But later when I decided to do restart (much later) I got this blue screen. So I'm pretty much clueless what to do :(
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
11,849
Welcome to TSG....

I think this video card is made for a MAC, have you tried a different card in the computer?
 

Conspi

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
14
Welcome to TSG....

I think this video card is made for a MAC, have you tried a different card in the computer?
Thanks for your reply.

m stands for "mobile".. it's a laptop (if you might mean m = Mac). The card has been working fine on Windows vista, XP and Ubuntu. So, this cant be MAC card and I haven't tried different card.

I guess what I need to know is how do can I restore the system or remove the problem without access to windows itself. I can however use linux (Ubuntu) on the same machine which might help, maybe?
 

Conspi

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
14
Got a little better look at the blue screen. This is what it says:

STOP: 0x0000007B(0xF78AE524, 0xC0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

Also, I cannot access windows with any safe-, debugging-, whatevermode.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
That particular error is a tough one -- and basically means Windows can't properly access the drive.

In some cases it can be fixed by loading the "recovery console" and running

chkdsk /r

This is covered under the "other issues" section here:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/324103

http://commandwindows.com/recovery.htm

Your next best option, if you have an installation CD, is to do a non destructive reinstall of Windows (but chkdsk should really be run first):

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
 

Conspi

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
14
That particular error is a tough one -- and basically means Windows can't properly access the drive.

In some cases it can be fixed by loading the "recovery console" and running

chkdsk /r

This is covered under the "other issues" section here:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/324103

http://commandwindows.com/recovery.htm

Your next best option, if you have an installation CD, is to do a non destructive reinstall of Windows (but chkdsk should really be run first):

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
I just tried to repair with windows CD.. it says it cannot find any drives on this system. If I tried to format it said same.. I will try chkdsk.

Else I'd thought that I've fried another drive.. but ubuntu runs just fine from the same disk so it cant be that?

I will try the chkdsk.
 

Conspi

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
14
:(

Looks like I cant do chckdsk. I cant get to recovery console.. at least I don't know how. From CD it says it cant find any hard drives and I don't know any other way..
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Well about all I can suggest at this point is to try reseating the cable on the drive inside the case. Since you have been in there dealing with video cards -- it's possible you have dislodged something.

Also if you can enter the BIOS/CMOS setup -- you can look to see if the drive is detected there -- or try to "auto detect" drives if you see that option.

You may be able to recover data using an IDE to USB converter and connecting it to another computer.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0..._m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0WXYY0WN61NK3YPKPQ64
 

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,693
First Name
Allan
What's the hard drive and partition set up on this PC ?
How are/were you booting into the different OS's ?
 

Conspi

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
14
Well about all I can suggest at this point is to try reseating the cable on the drive inside the case. Since you have been in there dealing with video cards -- it's possible you have dislodged something.

Also if you can enter the BIOS/CMOS setup -- you can look to see if the drive is detected there -- or try to "auto detect" drives if you see that option.

You may be able to recover data using an IDE to USB converter and connecting it to another computer.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0..._m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0WXYY0WN61NK3YPKPQ64
I haven't been dealing with video cards. All I did was install modified driver, so the openGL would work properly, as nVidia itself doesn't release official drivers for laptops (mobile cards).
Also Ubuntu is running from this very same drive, there's nothing wrong with drive, cable or any hardware at all, since everything is working perfectly in linux.

What's the hard drive and partition set up on this PC ?
How are/were you booting into the different OS's ?
Well, I use Grub as boot manager. There is partition for XP (hd0,0), ubuntu swap (hd0,1) and ubuntu root (hd0,2).
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
you may need to rebuild the boot loader since the error generated is one where the bootsector is not being properly seen by Windows, among other things.
 

Conspi

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
14
I don't know where you get the idea that nvidia doesn't provide drivers first of all. But how about tapping F8 as if to go to safe mode and choosing instead "enable vga driver" and then reboot and install driver.
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us
nVidia does support drivers for their desktop computers, but not m models. For laptops the driver must come from the laptop builder/vendor instead as nVidia simply doesn't have right to support it themselves (stupid, huh?)
Now, like I said. The driver that I got from vendor didn't support all OGL functions, so I decided to try modified/unofficial driver instead.. :(

But I will try the VGA thing out. Somewhy I tried most of the other options instead of this one. Thanks.

EDIT: Nope, Enable VGA = Blue Screen.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top