1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

blue screen saying bad pool caller

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by pcvista, Sep 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pcvista

    pcvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I get this blue screen error, saying bad pool caller whenever i turn on my laptop when its been off for a while (doesn't happen on a restart after installing a program or so). I've seen many threads with this same issue but i can't seem to solve it. any help would be appreciated thanks.



    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium , Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2080 @ 1.73GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 14 Stepping 12
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2037 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 112971 MB, Free - 3790 MB;
    Motherboard: TOSHIBA, IAKAA, 1.00, 0123456789AB
    Antivirus: Kaspersky Internet Security, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Technotch

    Technotch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    31
  3. pcvista

    pcvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I've done a complete virus scan with kaspersky, a malware scan and a memory diagnostic, and everything seems to be fine, so doubt it's a virus but i don't know.
     
  4. Technotch

    Technotch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    please post a hijackthis log here. also, memory diagnostics result isnt 100% accurate. if you have two memory modules, remove each one of them and try switching each on different slots. start your pc everytime to check.

    ______________________
    Laptop Repair
    PC Repair
     
  5. pcvista

    pcvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Here is my hijack log attached, and I'll try switching my memory modules like you said. Thanks for the quick responses too.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Technotch

    Technotch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    do you get the same bad pooler msg when you're in safe mode? if not, you might want to try updating drivers...hijackthis log files looks clean to me. have to leave for now. I'll get back to you as soon as I can

    ___________________________
    Computer Repair Services - Cavite
    Laptop Repair - Cavite
     
  7. pcvista

    pcvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I'm actually able to get on fine without safe mode. Also the only time i get that blue screen is when i boot it up after being shut down for at least a good couple hours (usually over night), so in order for me to even know if any solution works i'll have to shut it down and try the next day when i start it up.

    Here is another thread i found online that's the exact error message i get but i haven't solved it, don't know if this helps at all.
     
  8. Technotch

    Technotch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    ok my bad. before going in to 'drivers' i think we should go to the easier part first. after doing a virus scan and a 'clean' hijackthis is present, its probably safe to assume that this not a virus problem. so then we'll move on to third part software (..and drivers later)

    it only happens after a good rest?

    here's my take, disable all startup items in msconfig. shutdown your pc for a while, then see what happens when you boot up.

    if it comes up with the same error. go back to msconfig. this time, disable all non-microsoft services, leave to rest again and see what happens when you boot up. we'll move on drivers and possible hardware culprit if none of this work.

    ___________________________
    Computer Repair Services - Cavite
    Laptop Repair - Cavite
     
  9. pcvista

    pcvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Yes it only happens after it's been shut down for a while (couple hours i think, maybe more maybe less). If i simply do a restart it boots up normally with no problems. I will do what you said and shut it down tonight and check when i wake up and see if i still get it after disabling all startup items.
     
  10. Technotch

    Technotch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    the difference between a restart and a shutdown is the POST process. (i think) during a simple restart, the pc bypasses POST. meaning during simple restart it doesnt check the devices plugin on your pc e.g. printers, keyboard, mouse, memory.. so it could also be hardware :(
     
  11. pcvista

    pcvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Ok so i disabled all startup items and shut it down for couple hours and when i started it back up i got another blue screen saying "Special_Pool_Detected_Memory_Corruption
    *** stop: 0x000000c1 (0x8820afe0, 0x8820a10d, 0x0023001a, 0x00000023)
     
  12. pcvista

    pcvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    So what exactly is my next step
     
  13. pcvista

    pcvista Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    if there is anyone that has any other solutions to this issue it would be greatly appreciated
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/952810