Blue screen shutdown

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

stephs987

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
8
this is happening a few times a day and only getting worse. I would rate my internet smartness at 1...so not good. Anyway here is what i keep getting. I'll be right in the middle of something (i only use my computer for basic stuff, email, facebook, etc. just general simple things. I have searched for a few weeks on fixing this but i dont have the slightest clue to this stuff. I did install a trial version of norton which didn't help this situation and did do the trouble shooting in safe mode but came up clueless. So what happens: I'll be just on the internet, then I get the blue screen that says A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer. Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed. (the only thing i've installed was the recommended windows updates but this was going on before that) Then it says if problems continue disable or remove any newly installed hardware (not aware of any) or software, disable BI0S memory options such as caching or shadowing (wouldn't know what that was or where to find it) and it shuts down on me. Heres what comes up when i restart the computer.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 124
BCP1: 0000000000000000
BCP2: FFFFFA8003490038
BCP3: 00000000B6000000
BCP4: 0000000000010015
OS Version: 6_1_7601
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\062015-28844-01.dmp
C:\Users\Stephanie\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-51027-0.sysdata.xml

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

I'm lost. And since i have no technical skills to dig into this, not a good idea for me to go installing and deleting stuff because i'm about half clueless on this stuff. I did go to the safe mode and did the trouble shooting, but anytime i saw a caution, I hit the apply fix, and nothing ever happened so I have no clue. I have NOT done the backup recovery because have not read up on it yet and not sure what i would lose, etc so nervous to go "fixing" my computer when this is above my head. I googled the minidump thing and am assuming this is the issue but one article i read said dont attempt it if you are clueless pretty much, and thats me! Another thing to note, when I got to the trouble shooting part, I did troubleshoot hardware and got the Microsoft Teredo Tunneling adapter has a driver problem-not fixed with the red caution icon next to it. Then Hardware changes might not have been detected-with the caution icon next to that. ANY help would be soo appreciated! Thank you sooo much!!
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,005
Hi, post the Minidump files.
Create a new folder on the desktop and call it dumpfiles [or something similar]

Look in c:\windows\minidump
Copy the last 5 minidump files to that folder.
Close the folder and right click on it and select Send To Compressed [zipped] Folder.
Windows will compress the file and then save the new zipped file in the same location.

Use the 'manage attachments' in the 'Go Advanced' reply window below, to upload that zip file here as an attachment.
======
Let us have some Pc specifications.
Check and post
TSG System Information Utility - found here.
http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe
======
Download Security Check by screen317 from.
http://screen317.spywareinfoforum.org/
Or
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/securitycheck/dl/123/

Save it to your Desktop.
Double click the install icon.
If using Vista - Win 7 - right click the install icon and select "Run as Administrator"
A command Prompt window will open.
Let it scan the Pc - press any key when asked.
It should now open in Notepad.
Copy and Paste the result of the scan in the reply box below.
======
"Microsoft Teredo Tunneling adapter has a driver problem"
You are still able to get online using this pc?
 

stephs987

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
8
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: AMD C-50 Processor, AMD64 Family 20 Model 1 Stepping 0
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 2662 Mb
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6250 Graphics, 384 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 292136 MB, Free - 202042 MB;
Motherboard: TOSHIBA, Portable PC
Antivirus: Norton Security, Updated and Enabled

I FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS BUT IT SAYS I NEED TO BE THE ADMINISTRATOR TO ACCESS THE FILE. AND EVEN AT THAT, IT JUST OPENED UP A LIST OF EACH FILE, NOT MY FOLDER....OH NO I THINK I MESSED UP EVEN MORE..

ON THE MICROSOFT TEREDO TUNNELING ADAPTER PROBLEM, YES I AM STILL ABLE TO GET ONLINE USING THIS PC.
 

stephs987

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
8
SAYS "You are not the owner of this file" contact the administrator or owner of this file for permission." I am the owner of this computer..only one who uses it.
 

stephs987

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
8
Results of screen317's Security Check version 1.004
Windows 7 Service Pack 1 x64 (UAC is enabled)
Internet Explorer 11
``````````````Antivirus/Firewall Check:``````````````
Windows Firewall Enabled!
WMI entry may not exist for antivirus; attempting automatic update.
`````````Anti-malware/Other Utilities Check:`````````
Java 7 Update 6
Java version 32-bit out of Date!
Adobe Flash Player 17.0.0.188 Flash Player out of Date!
Adobe Reader XI
Google Chrome (43.0.2357.124)
Google Chrome (43.0.2357.81)
````````Process Check: objlist.exe by Laurent````````
Norton ccSvcHst.exe
`````````````````System Health check`````````````````
Total Fragmentation on Drive C: 0%
````````````````````End of Log``````````````````````
 

stephs987

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
8
ok, managed to get it to give me permission but now on manage attachments, when i go to click on the last 5, each one says invalid file. i'm going to just stop now while i'm (hopefully) ahead. I do have a folder on my desktop with 19 DMP files in them.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,005
Hi, we do not need to see all 19 dump files - however, you need to upload that complete folder as it is now as an attachment, not individual files.

Whatever changes you may have made so far to your pc - make no other changes.
Also let us know the make and model number of your pc.
 

stephs987

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
8
View attachment dumpfiles zip.zip

I had a computer read thing done on my computer last year..heres the specs that came back with that:

Operating System System Model
Windows 7 Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 1 (build 7601)
Install Language: English (United States)
System Locale: English (United States)
Installed: 7/27/2011 2:54:20 PM
Boot Mode: BIOS (Secure Boot not supported)
TOSHIBA Satellite C655D PSC0YU-018001
System Serial Number: 5B076247Q
Enclosure Type: Notebook
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
1000 megahertz AMD C-50
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (2 total)
Not hyper-threaded Board: TOSHIBA Portable PC Base Board Version
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
BIOS: Insyde Corp. 1.40 02/18/2011
Drives Memory Modules c,d

TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633F SATA CdRom Device [Optical drive]

TOSHIBA MK3265GSXN [Hard drive] (320.07 GB) -- drive 0, s/n 31GOBIGTB, rev GH101M,

Slot 'DIMM0' has 1024 MB (serial number B6071882)
Slot 'DIMM1' has 2048 MB (serial number 4512B0A9)
 
Last edited:

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,005
Ok - you did good ;) it will take me some time to check the minidump files.
Meanwhile, download Process Hacker.
http://filehippo.com/download_process_hacker/

Install - Run and let it scan your pc.
Click on Hacker in the top left hand corner - click on Save and save to your desktop.
Then open the saved file - it should open in notepad.
Click Edit>Select All>Edit>Copy - paste the scan file here.
 

stephs987

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
8
ok thank you sooo much!!!!!!!!!!!! oh man i thought i had messed this computer UP!! LOL!!
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,005
Minidump file check - in part.
The latest 5 files are all showing the same error.
*******************************************************************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
*******************************************************************************

Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

BugCheck 124, {0, fffffa8003490038, b6000000, 10015}

Probably caused by : hardware

Followup: MachineOwner
---------
0: kd> !analyze -v
*******************************************************************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
*******************************************************************************

WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
A fatal hardware error has occurred. Parameter 1 identifies the type of error source that reported the error. Parameter 2 holds the address of the WHEA_ERROR_RECORD structure that describes the error conditon.
Arguments:
Arg1: 0000000000000000, Machine Check Exception
Arg2: fffffa8003490038, Address of the WHEA_ERROR_RECORD structure.
Arg3: 00000000b6000000, High order 32-bits of the MCi_STATUS value.
Arg4: 0000000000010015, Low order 32-bits of the MCi_STATUS value.

Debugging Details:
------------------
BUGCHECK_STR: 0x124_AuthenticAMD

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

PROCESS_NAME: chrome.exe

CURRENT_IRQL: f

STACK_TEXT:
fffff800`00ba6ac8 fffff800`0320ca3b : 00000000`00000124 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`03490038 00000000`b6000000 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
fffff800`00ba6ad0 fffff800`02d9bc33 : 00000000`00000001 fffffa80`03490ea0 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`03490ef0 : hal!HalBugCheckSystem+0x1e3
fffff800`00ba6b10 fffff800`0320c700 : 00000000`00000728 fffffa80`03490ea0 fffff800`00ba6e70 00000000`249b7700 : nt!WheaReportHwError+0x263
fffff800`00ba6b70 fffff800`0320c052 : fffffa80`03490ea0 fffff800`00ba6e70 fffffa80`03490ea0 00000000`00000000 : hal!HalpMcaReportError+0x4c

STACK_COMMAND: kb

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: hardware

IMAGE_NAME: hardware

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 0

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0x124_AuthenticAMD_PROCESSOR_TLB

BUCKET_ID: X64_0x124_AuthenticAMD_PROCESSOR_TLB

Followup: MachineOwner
---------
0: kd> kc
Call Site
nt!KeBugCheckEx
hal!HalBugCheckSystem
nt!WheaReportHwError
hal!HalpMcaReportError
hal!HalpMceHandler
hal!HalHandleMcheck
nt!KxMcheckAbort
nt!KiMcheckAbort
0: kd> kv
Child-SP RetAddr : Args to Child : Call Site
fffff800`00ba6ac8 fffff800`0320ca3b : 00000000`00000124 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`03490038 00000000`b6000000 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
fffff800`00ba6ad0 fffff800`02d9bc33 : 00000000`00000001 fffffa80`03490ea0 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`03490ef0 : hal!HalBugCheckSystem+0x1e3
fffff800`00ba6b10 fffff800`0320c700 : 00000000`00000728 fffffa80`03490ea0 fffff800`00ba6e70 00000000`249b7700 : nt!WheaReportHwError+0x263
fffff800`00ba6b70 fffff800`0320c052 : fffffa80`03490ea0 fffff800`00ba6e70 fffffa80`03490ea0 00000000`00000000 : hal!HalpMcaReportError+0x4c
fffff800`00ba6cc0 fffff800`031ffe8f : 00000000`36ca4d05 00000000`00000001 fffff800`00ba6ef0 00000000`00000000 : hal!HalpMceHandler+
0: kd> kn
# Child-SP RetAddr Call Site
00 fffff800`00ba6ac8 fffff800`0320ca3b nt!KeBugCheckEx
01 fffff800`00ba6ad0 fffff800`02d9bc33 hal!HalBugCheckSystem+0x1e3
02 fffff800`00ba6b10 fffff800`0320c700 nt!WheaReportHwError+0x263
The WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124) is not an easy one to locate.
It could be a faulty motherboard - CPU, overheating.
It could relate to a voltage dip or a raise in voltage to the system - faulty memory [Ram] or even a faulty processor, etc, etc.
However, where the blue screen error is reported is not necessarily where it first started and may not be the cause.

How long is the pc on, before the Blue Screen occurs?
What were you doing the last time it crashed - surfing the net, playing games, etc?
You will need to run through a few tests to try and locate the problem.
Run a Mem Test.
http://www.memtest.org/
Scroll down to 'Download (Pre-built & ISOs)'
'Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)'

Download the ISO file - then burn the ISO to a Cd/DVD
Start the Pc using the Cd and run the memory test overnight or for at least 8 passes.

It is best to run a full scan on individual Ram sticks if you can.
Or run the test but if any errors are shown - then remove all sticks of Ram and test each Ram stick one at a time.

Guide to using Memtest86+
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic207910.html
======
Hard drive test.
SeaTools for DOS tutorial - ISO to CD
Burn the ISO file to a DVD and start the pc from the DVD.
http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/201271en?language=en_US
======
Check for overheating
http://www.piriform.com/speccy
======
Also download Process Hacker and post the result of the scan.
 

stephs987

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
8
ok will get to work on downloading and getting these reports posted! Thank you! As far as when the blue screen appears and shuts down my computer, its usually when i am just surfing the internet (and i only look at pages like news, job websites, just simple normal stuff. BUT, as far as the question about leaving it on...yes i do leave it on all the time. When this started happening i googled a little bit and saw it could be because its getting too hot, so then i started turning it off after i'm done with the computer. Still does it but yes i used to leave it on 24/7 (i know...dumb) Usually these days its on and i'm using it maybe an hour and then it shuts down. Its getting more frequent. I did notice on one of those dumps yesterday the 20th..no one ws here yesterday at that time and my computer was off! So that struck me as odd???
I will get to work on these links you posted. Thank you!
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,005
Overheating is one of the may reasons for Blue Screens.
Run the MemTest, Hard Drive test and check for overheating.
Check the fans are clean of dust, etc, and raise the laptop of the desk to increase airflow.
Post the results of the test when you are ready,

http://support.toshiba.com/support/modelHome?freeText=3133792
Type the model number in the search box above and update any needed drivers.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top