1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blue Screen While Performing CPU Intensive tasks

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by watsthegod, Dec 15, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. watsthegod

    watsthegod Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Hey everyone! Lately I've been having a persisting problem with my computer. I edit films and whenever i'm in the rendering stages, or even just idle in Adobe Premiere my computer crashes. I get a blue screen error with either the message WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR or CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT. I'm not sure if it's an over heating issue or not because my computer has fairly decent cooling, but it only happens when I do something CPU Intensive, it quite obnoxious. Here are some specifications from my computer if it helps!

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 16335 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080, -1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 118 GB (9 GB Free); D: 931 GB (146 GB Free); E: 904 GB (98 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASRock, Z97 Anniversary
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
     
  2. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Are you over clocking your computer? Many times these are related to hardware or driver errors. Have you used any software to monitor your temps?

    Download the following and run
    http://filehippo.com/download_speccy

    The information found by Speccy is very helpful when diagnosing issues.

    1. Go to File Menu
    2. Select File > Publish Snapshot
    3. Copy the created link in your next reply
     
  3. watsthegod

    watsthegod Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    5

    I went ahead and created a Gyazo screenshot for you! https://gyazo.com/b3b371ae6631382296069365117e7fd0
    And I believe I also have overclock disabled in my UEFI Settings but I'll double check.
     
  4. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Did you only post the one screen? Its best if you post the full report. Also you may want to download and run Speedfan or similar to monitor your temps
     
  5. watsthegod

    watsthegod Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    http://speccy.piriform.com/results/iaHcOm1PHxeJKY2i5ovgnW6 Here you go :), my temps have been pretty normal aside from when I'm running some processes, that's when It begins to increase.
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,094
    Speedfan is next to useless on modern hardware. It often returns flaky info. Since you have an asrock board, there is purpose designed monitoring software for your mb. Go to the asrock support page and download/install the A-tuning utility. Once you have that installed, run something that will stress the system ie prime95, intel burn test or the intel extreme tuning utility [this one will also monitor temps] Post your temps while idle and while running the stress test. In addition, post your voltages; specifically the 12V, 5V, and 3.3V values. Here is a link to the support page for your mb;
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z97 Anniversary/#Download
     
  7. watsthegod

    watsthegod Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    IDLE.png TEST.png

    I went ahead and ran a stress test with Intels Extreme tuning utility and here are the results.
     
  8. watsthegod

    watsthegod Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Also, if its any help, I had someone tell me that my CPU was having timing issues between the cores and the threads and that it was a driver issue.
     
  9. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,094
    You have your answer; it is overheating. While you may have other problems, you need to fix the overheating issue then see if you still have problems. I see from the asrock utility, you have your cpu fan plugged into cpu2 fan header. Why? In addition, the cpu fan does not seem to be increasing very much. Only going from 1200rpm to 1420 under full load.
    How long did you run the stress test before taking the screenshot? If it was only a few seconds, the fan may not have come up to full rpm.
     
  10. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,848
    That could be caused by your chipset driver, you might want to update it or reinstall it. Also that software is not showing your chassis fan speeds, are they hooked up and working?
    If it was me I would plug the CPU fan into #1 instead of #2. Also 81C is too hot should max out around 75C, what heat sink are you using and how long have you had the computer, check for dust buildup.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2017
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1201170

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice