1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blue Screen :(

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by dkmystery, Nov 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dkmystery

    dkmystery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    I have Windows XP sp 2, 2gb ram, 250gb hard disk. According to the Disk Defragmenter, my c drive has 47% free disk space. I haven't installed any new hardware or software recently, other than a new UPS system. :)
    And in the last one week I have encountered the BSoD twice. I wrote down what I got for the first time, the 2nd time it was something about not enough disk space...

    Here's the first time I got the error:
    Page fault in non paged area

    Please help me determine what the issue is. Vendors here simply go for re-installing the OS from scratch and not into analyzing the error messages :confused:
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,820
  3. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Can you post a few of your latest minidump files? They are located in C:\WINDOWS\Minidump. ZIP them and attach them to your next post.

    Right-click the minidump file, select Send To, then select Compressed (zipped) Folder.

    Windows will compress (zip) the file and save the new zipped file in the same location.


    If the Minidump folder is empty, you'll need to configure Windows to create minidump files:

    How to Configure Windows to Create Minidump Files
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  5. dkmystery

    dkmystery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for the prompt reply.
    There's only one "Mini111611-01.dmp", I've attached the zip.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    It's all yours, blues_harp28. :)
     
  7. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,820
    win32k.sys

    Have you made any changes with the Virtual memory settings?
     
  8. dkmystery

    dkmystery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    nope... and I'm the only one who uses the system.
     
  9. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,820
    Run a Memory test.
    http://www.memtest.org/
    http://www.memtest86.com/download.html

    Download and burn the ISO to CD
    Boot from that CD and run the memory test overnight or at least for a few hours.

    Edit.
    2Gb Ram you say - missed that.
    You are still using Service Pack 2 - update asap to SP3.

    Also..check Device Manager.
    Click Start button>run>type
    devmgmt.msc

    Check for any yellow exclamation marks.
    A driver may need updating.
     
  10. dkmystery

    dkmystery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for the links, I'll use them tonight.

    As for Ram, I right clicked on 'my computer' and I get info:
    2.70GHz, 1.99 gb ram

    it isn't 256mb! is the ram faulty?
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    You should definitely upgrade to SP3.
     
  12. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,820
    Run the Mem test - best to do so on the individual sticks, if you can.
    How many sticks of Ram do you have installed?
     
  13. dkmystery

    dkmystery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    1. will going for sp3 have any effect on the softwares I use? like Dreamweaver etc.
    2. I ran 'devmgmt.msc', no exclamation marks
     
  14. dkmystery

    dkmystery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    I have one stick of 2gb ram, shall I sell it and get a new one? or 2 sticks that'll combine to make 2gb ram?
     
  15. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,820
    No - just run the Mem test for now - let us know the result.
    Also check Device Manager as suggested above.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Blue Screen
  1. BruhXP
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    640
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027107

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice