1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blue screen

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by polictomaz, Dec 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. polictomaz

    polictomaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Hi, for the past few weeks i've been experiancing random blue screens, at first only once a day or once every few days, but lately i get them a few times in an hour. So i reinstalled windows 7, but it didnt do the trick. So now i noticed that it happens while playing Lineage 2. I reinstalled new drivers for my GPU and it is still happening, checked my RAM for errors (no errors) and now im out of ideas. So i hope you can help me:

    This is the error:

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1060

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 124
    BCP1: 0000000000000000
    BCP2: FFFFFA80065A0038
    BCP3: 0000000000000000
    BCP4: 0000000000000000
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 256_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\121511-34725-01.dmp
    C:\Users\Boby\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-42354-0.sysdata.xml

    Read our privacy statement online:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
    C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

    My setup:
    GPU: 8800GTX
    CPU: C2D e6400
    motherboard: asus p5w DH deluxe
    6 GB DDR2 800

    The system is cooled enough so overheating isnt the problem and i cleaned the components a week ago when i put in a new hard drive.

    Im also adding the 2 dump files. Hope you guys can help me.
     

    Attached Files:

    • dmp.rar
      File size:
      19.4 KB
      Views:
      13
  2. Android_FX

    Android_FX

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    25
    Update your BIOS's firmware!
    And install all the latest chipset and graphics card drivers, and windows updates!
     
  3. polictomaz

    polictomaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    I checked the ASUS homepage, but when i need to select my OS, the dont have win7 under selections, only vista and XP. Should i usevista x64 or what?
     
  4. Android_FX

    Android_FX

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    25
    For bios update, it doesnt matter, most likely you can download the tool to update it and a firmware file, or both are in one file. Execute that, and let it update the bios.
     
  5. polictomaz

    polictomaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Flashed bios, now we need to wait and see if this helped :)

    Edit: Well, got my first reboot after alt-tabing back to Lineage 2, the error code was (again) 124. Again ill be adding the 2 dmp files... and if you guys have any more ideas... and yes, i have all the latest drivers and stuff.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Android_FX

    Android_FX

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    25
    Try to use your computer with another video card...
     
  7. polictomaz

    polictomaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    i dont have a spare graphics card so that wont be possible :S
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You Minidump says problem caused by Hardware....check to see if your Video card fan is working and not dusted up....my video card needed taking the cover off to get the dust out.....
     
  9. polictomaz

    polictomaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    ill do that
     
  10. polictomaz

    polictomaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    could the keyboard be the problem? Becouse i looked at the minidump, and the NTOSKRNL.EXE is in the first place, and than i checked this file and it says:
    Cause


    1. Keyboard issue
    2. Miscellaneous corruption
    3. Corrupt boot.ini file.
    4. Missing boot.ini file.
    5. Missing or corrupt ntoskrnl.exe file.
    6. Windows NT installed on a partition bigger then 7.8GB
    7. Corrupted hard disk drive or severely corrupted Windows.
    And my g11 keyboard is turning on and off on random for a weak now, so could this really be it?
     
  11. Ditrich

    Ditrich

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    28

    124 is pointing to hardware, could be variety of causes from an actual physical failure to bad cooling and sometimes overclocking. Identifying hardware can be very hard, memtest and prime95 and still they may show nothing. So first of all check if stuff is sitting well in slots and the cooling is proper. Try optimized defaults in the bios.
     
  12. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    What did you use to test the RAM? If it was not Memtest86+ then follow this guide. This is the best test you can get but even so it can miss minor errors so you could also try running the PC on one stick of RAM at a time just to be quite sure. If you continue to get errors with all the RAM sticks then we will know for sure that RAM is not the problem.

    The 124 error code can be any hardware item in your system.

    Make sure you run this test for at least 8 passes for it to be conclusive.

     
  13. polictomaz

    polictomaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    ok, so i ran the Memtest for 10 hours theough the night, but it didnt find any errors... i also disconnected my Keyboard but the computer still reset...yesterday, i also checked the hard drive where windows is installed for errors, but there werent any. I also changed the keyboard, GPU is at 60 celsius (if i set the fan to 100% it goes down to about 52) , CPU is at about 42 celsius, so i dont think overheating is the problem.

    This is the .dmp file (all are the same):
    Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.12.0002.633 AMD64
    Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    Loading Dump File [C:\Windows\Minidump\121911-29421-01.dmp]
    Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

    Symbol search path is: SRV*C:\Symbols*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols
    Executable search path is:
    Windows 7 Kernel Version 7601 (Service Pack 1) MP (2 procs) Free x64
    Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
    Built by: 7601.17640.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506
    Machine Name:
    Kernel base = 0xfffff800`02a03000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`02c48670
    Debug session time: Mon Dec 19 14:10:19.440 2011 (UTC + 1:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:00:09.235
    Loading Kernel Symbols
    ...................................................
    Loading User Symbols
    Mini Kernel Dump does not contain unloaded driver list
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

    BugCheck 124, {0, fffffa80041d18f8, 0, 0}

    Probably caused by : hardware

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------

    1: kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
    A fatal hardware error has occurred. Parameter 1 identifies the type of error
    source that reported the error. Parameter 2 holds the address of the
    WHEA_ERROR_RECORD structure that describes the error conditon.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 0000000000000000, Machine Check Exception
    Arg2: fffffa80041d18f8, Address of the WHEA_ERROR_RECORD structure.
    Arg3: 0000000000000000, High order 32-bits of the MCi_STATUS value.
    Arg4: 0000000000000000, Low order 32-bits of the MCi_STATUS value.

    Debugging Details:
    ------------------


    BUGCHECK_STR: 0x124_GenuineIntel

    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

    PROCESS_NAME: System

    CURRENT_IRQL: 0

    STACK_TEXT:
    fffff880`02fba6f0 fffff800`02cc5c59 : fffffa80`041d18d0 fffffa80`02e8db60 00000000`00000013 00000000`00000000 : nt!WheapCreateLiveTriageDump+0x6c
    fffff880`02fbac10 fffff800`02ba5f57 : fffffa80`041d18d0 fffff800`02c202b8 fffffa80`02e8db60 00000000`00000206 : nt!WheapCreateTriageDumpFromPreviousSession+0x49
    fffff880`02fbac40 fffff800`02b0d5d5 : fffff800`02c81ae0 00000000`00000001 fffffa80`040432a0 fffffa80`02e8db60 : nt!WheapProcessWorkQueueItem+0x57
    fffff880`02fbac80 fffff800`02a8a001 : fffff880`01198e00 fffff800`02b0d5b0 fffffa80`02e8db00 00000000`00000000 : nt!WheapWorkQueueWorkerRoutine+0x25
    fffff880`02fbacb0 fffff800`02d1afee : 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`02e8db60 00000000`00000080 fffffa80`025f7040 : nt!ExpWorkerThread+0x111
    fffff880`02fbad40 fffff800`02a715e6 : fffff880`009e8180 fffffa80`02e8db60 fffff880`009f2f40 00000000`00000000 : nt!PspSystemThreadStartup+0x5a
    fffff880`02fbad80 00000000`00000000 : fffff880`02fbb000 fffff880`02fb5000 fffff880`02fba260 00000000`00000000 : nt!KxStartSystemThread+0x16


    STACK_COMMAND: kb

    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

    MODULE_NAME: hardware

    IMAGE_NAME: hardware

    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 0

    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0x124_GenuineIntel_PROCESSOR_BUS_PRV

    BUCKET_ID: X64_0x124_GenuineIntel_PROCESSOR_BUS_PRV

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------

    1: kd> lmvm hardware
    start end module name
    Mini Kernel Dump does not contain unloaded driver list
     
  14. Ditrich

    Ditrich

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    The crash dump clearly states:

    BugCheck 124, {0, fffffa80041d18f8, 0, 0}
    0x124_GenuineIntel_PROCESSOR_BUS_PRV
    Probably caused by : hardware



    Reset the bios to defaults.

    Try different sticks in different slots. If the system crashes with 1 single memory stick in, obviously try another CPU. It could be bad socket or the CPU not sitting right.
     
  15. polictomaz

    polictomaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    ok...with different sticks in different slots you're probably refering to RAM. Ill try using 1 by one stick of RAm to see if that fixes the problem, else ill try to get another CPU and graphics card. I dont think that the CPU is not sitting right becouse this problem started out of nowhere.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031315

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice