1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Blue Screen

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Annette7, Jan 24, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    PC Keeps showing blue screen and shutting down.:(

    Image of screen attached
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Turn2

    Turn2

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Can you recreate the issue in safe mode? Try also running a memory diagnostic.

    Click Start, type mdsched.exe in the Search box, and then press Enter.

    Choose whether to restart the computer and run the tool immediately or schedule the tool to run at the next restart.

    Windows Memory Diagnostics runs automatically after the computer restarts and performs a standard memory test automatically. If you want to perform fewer or more tests, press F1, use the Up and Down arrow keys to set the Test Mix as Basic, Standard, or Extended, and then press F10 to apply the desired settings and resume testing.
    When testing is completed, the computer restarts automatically. You’ll see the test results when you log on.
     
  3. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Not sure what you mean by recreate the issue in safe mode?
    I ran a memory diagnostic (extensive) which took hours and when I got this morning it had finished with no notice of any errors but looked like the blue screen had such down because there was a message saying 'Widows has shut down unexpectedly due to an error and had to restart.
     
  4. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,785
  5. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks for the reply.
    I have uninstalled Norton then reinstalled it again so hope that solves the problem.
     
  6. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,785
    Ok - keep us updated.
     
  7. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Will do thanks. Seems OK so far.
    Although having a problem with my iphone when I connect to PC it's not coming up autoplay to transfer pictures and videos???
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,785
  9. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    ok Thanks
     
  10. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Unfortunately got the blue screen again this morning. Could it be because I didn't delete all the files when I deleted Norton but kept some of them??
     

    Attached Files:

  11. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,785
  12. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks for the quick reply. I have followed your instructions and will let you know if that stops blue screen.
     
  13. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Unfortunately the blue screen is still happening.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,785
    Did you use the Norton uninstaller and then re-install Norton?

    Post the Minidump files
    Create a new folder on the desktop and call it dumpfiles [or something similar]

    Look in c:\windows\minidump
    Copy the last 5 minidump files to that new folder.
    Close the folder and right click on it and select Send To Compressed [zipped] Folder.
    Windows will compress the file and then save the new zipped file in the same location.

    Use the 'manage attachments' in the 'Go Advanced' reply window to upload that zip file here as an attachment.
     
  15. Annette7

    Annette7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Yes I followed your instructions and used the Norton uninstaller and then re-installed Norton.

    Here are the files you asked for

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1141818

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice