1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

board posting problems?!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by aburnside, Dec 8, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aburnside

    aburnside Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    hello!

    i'm trying to put together a system. i've gone through two motherboards with the same problem. i've installed all the components and power the machine on, but there's no picture. what am i missing?

    andrew

    ps: please reply to my email, [email protected], thanks!
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Do you hear the machine post and just no video, or is it not even posting.

    I would remove everything except the mobo, processor, ram, floppy, and vid card, try to boot it with a win98 start up disk.
    If sucessfull then install the hard drive, make sure it boots, then the cdrom. Once you have those installed, fdisk and format the hard drive, install the os, then install everything else one at a time
     
  3. aburnside

    aburnside Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    no, there's no beep to designate post (if that's what you mean).
     
  4. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Did you get a new motherboard just because of this problem, or was something else damaged beyond repair? You might be able to return one and just keep the other one. What vid card are you using (onboard, AGP or PCI...what make/model)... did you make sure there is a vid card? Sometimes someone might order/buy a mobo with onboard video and get one without it and not notice. Does any part of the system power up at all? Do you get any video at all? If it doesn't power up at all make sure the ps is jumpered to the correct voltage, (on back buy the ac receptacle) or make sure the ps is connected to the mobo properly.

    [EDIT: opps... sorry. Brian beat me to it. :)]
     
  5. aburnside

    aburnside Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    i think i located the problem. i removed hd and cd-rom and reboot and the system loaded. i installed hd and it loaded, must be bad cd-rom? thanks for the help!
     
  6. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Make sure you have the cdrom jumpered correctly, either master or slave depending on where it's installed, can't have two masters or two slaves on the same ide cable
     
  7. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    If the cable is attached to the board backwards it won't boot up either.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61122

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice