1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bob

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by RRG, Jan 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RRG

RRG Thread Starter

Have decided to acquire a 17" flat panel monitor. Although prices and specs for many are available on line, prices seem to be dropping rapidly, and I have no experience with other than CRT monitors.
    Can you possibly provide me with appropriate minimal specs I should ensure a unit has? And, do you believe any of the models currently running about $200 are worth the investment? I recently found an Acer that looks good to me, but then what do I know.
    Thank you for your consideration and assistance.
    Bob Gestrich

2. tajaemax

tajaemax

All depends upon what you want to use it for.

3. RRG

RRG Thread Starter

just for home use, nothing real jazzy. Currently quite happy with a Samsung Syncmaster 753 DF, but would like to get a bit more space out of my closet type arrangement.
    Thanks for your help!
    Bob

4. tajaemax

tajaemax

Sorry I ment like gaming, word processing, video editing, etc.

5. JSanguancheu

JSanguancheu

You might want to head over to www.tomshardware.com and search their articles database for LCD. They have done quite a few comparison articles over the past year or two about LCDs.

Here's a good one:
    http://graphics.tomshardware.com/display/20041123/index.html

Basically, you're looking for a high contrast ratio (500:1 or more) and low latency (or response time) of 16ms or less. I believe the response times have gotten down to 12ms or less now.

The lower the response time, the less chance of having a "ghosting" effect while viewing high speed video (such as in games).

LG, NEC, and Samsung are pretty respected names in the LCD field.