1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Boosting Wireless access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by EDD32, Apr 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. EDD32

    EDD32 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    hi there,
    I currently use the netgear wireless router (located on the 2nd floor) and use my laptop usually on ground floor to access the net etc. Now, the strength is very weak and at times I lose the connection if I move around the ground floor.
    My question; Is there a way i can increase the strenght so I can use the laptop with better connection strenght throughout the ground floor?
    (i.e an access point on 1st floor or watever is available to boost strength)

    p.s I'm using netgear PCMCIA wireless card.

    thanks
    :D
     
  2. lemmonhead

    lemmonhead

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    The new HORIZONS wireless card claims to have unsurpassed qualities for what you are looking for. Claims to have a 1 mile range on open ground. I know Tiger Direct has them, but do not know of anyone who has tried one yet. I have a booster unit for my linksys router which works well for me.

    Check it out and if you do decide to buy one, let us know how it works.
     
  3. Cwolly

    Cwolly

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    There are several options available, and you hit one on the head which would be to purchase an access point and run a connection from your current wireless router down to the first floor where you would locate the access point. Use the same SSID for both the router and access point, but configure the channels different. My suggestion would be use channel one on one floor and channel 11 on another, thus eliminating any possible interfierence with eachother. Using this method you should have seamless roaming thru your house.
    It is possible to buy a new PCMCIA card with better strength, but it is a crap shoot as to whether that will help your situation.
    Another possibility is to buy a better antenae for your access point. I do not have personal experience with Netgear routers, so I am not sure if this is an option for you.
    Good luck in whatever you decide to do,
    Cwolly
     
  4. EDD32

    EDD32 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    hmmm...thx
    must say getting that card does sound tempting BUT as there r no user reviews around i'll wait on that.

    so if i setup this access point on 1st floor, will this going to b wireless or wired (i'm assuming the later) ?
     
  5. Cwolly

    Cwolly

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    If you set up a wireless access point on the first floor it would need one cable going up to your router.
     
  6. singularHive

    singularHive

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Hey
    Someone Go On My Thread!! I Have A Very Important Question!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220618

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice