1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Boot from CD?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by youngshd, Aug 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. youngshd

    youngshd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    How can I command my laptop to boot windows XP from the reinstall CD? It will not automatically boot from CD, nor can I get it to boot with any commands I have tried.
    Thanks
     
  2. Moby

    Moby

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,709
    You probably need to go into the bios to tell the computer to boot from the CD drive not the hard drive.
     
  3. rodeognome

    rodeognome

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,366
    To get into the BIOS(or Setup as its sometimes called) - tap your finger on the DEL key
    as the computer is starting up.
     
  4. youngshd

    youngshd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Tapped delete key on startup. Black screen opened, but no options to boot from cd listed. Went into F8 screen, but no cd boot options listed there either. What next?
    Thanks.
     
  5. rodeognome

    rodeognome

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,366

    ok - will will not specifically say "boot from Cd"

    when you access the BIOS or SETUP screen - you will get a whole load of options - look out for anything that says "boot options" or "bootup sequence" or it might just show

    1st Boot Device - IDE-0
    2 Boot Device - CD ROM


    IDE-0 is your hard drive - you do not want to boot from your hard drive first so your configuration should be something like this


    1st Boot Device - CD-ROM
    2 Boot Device - IDE-0
     
  6. youngshd

    youngshd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Sorry, but none of the black screens I have been able to access say anything like that. What am I doing wrong?
     
  7. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Tell us what Make and Model computer you have and we can probably figure out how to get into your bios and set the boot order for you.
     
  8. youngshd

    youngshd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Dell Inspiron 1150
     
  9. colmaca

    colmaca

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,429
    Press <F2> during POST to enter the system setup program

    F2 is how to get to bios
     
  10. youngshd

    youngshd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Colmaca. Problem solved. Yhread complete.
     
  11. rodeognome

    rodeognome

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,366
    glad you got it solved!
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/490925

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice