Boot from XP Install Disk

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

frenshaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
5
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 630 Processor, x64 Family 16 Model 5 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3319 Mb
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 4200, 256 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 931 GB (762 GB Free); K: 0 GB (0 GB Free);
Motherboard: FOXCONN, 2A92
Antivirus: Symantec Endpoint Protection, Enabled and Updated

My question is for another Old Gateway Machine MFATXPNT MDW 500X
I am helping a friend get it going again. Trying to boot from a xp install disk
but function keys don't seem to function the way I am used to...like nothing happens...
I was going to create a new boot sector with dos command c:\fixboot
any ideas?
 

frenshaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
5
I am trying to get to the BIOS but the function keys are not functioning properly...like nothing...
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2018
Messages
2
I am trying to get to the BIOS but the function keys are not functioning properly...like nothing...
Then Try use an External keyboard
I am trying to get to the BIOS but the function keys are not functioning properly...like nothing...
Is the keyboard responding at all? are some commands responding or all the commands ..
If not all commands then try use a different keyboard
 

frenshaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
5
First KB was Dell USB...Second KB was HP(and it has a FN key but still no response to any strokes...
I never get a chance to type...it starts out with a spinning bar and I see "DHCP" in the text string...
eventually, I get the msg exiting boot utility and it gives me the std choice boot up menu for a previous abnormal shutdown.
 

frenshaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
5
The Arrow Keys work to select my boot choice...SAFE BOOT starts a series of executions scrolling and then it hangs...if I choose boot normally, I get the xp logo and a bit later it disappears and then it hangs.
I may just put the HD in a drive cage and pull the data off it that way...and recycle the old machine.
 

frenshaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
5
SALUTE! The answer I was looking for...HOLD DOWN F1 KEY DURING POWER-UP TO ENTER BIOS...
Still...unable to complete the transition to a COMMAND PROMPT...I WILL RESEAT THE MEMORY AND TRY ONE MORE TIME...THEN IT WILL BE A DRIVE CAGE ACTIVITY...
THANKS FOR YOUR HELP...
FRANK
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top