1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Boot from XP Install Disk

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by frenshaw, Sep 18, 2018.

Advertisement
  1. frenshaw

    frenshaw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 630 Processor, x64 Family 16 Model 5 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3319 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 4200, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 931 GB (762 GB Free); K: 0 GB (0 GB Free);
    Motherboard: FOXCONN, 2A92
    Antivirus: Symantec Endpoint Protection, Enabled and Updated

    My question is for another Old Gateway Machine MFATXPNT MDW 500X
    I am helping a friend get it going again. Trying to boot from a xp install disk
    but function keys don't seem to function the way I am used to...like nothing happens...
    I was going to create a new boot sector with dos command c:\fixboot
    any ideas?
     
  2. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,704
    You have to go in the Bios and set the CD rom as first boot.
     
  3. frenshaw

    frenshaw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I am trying to get to the BIOS but the function keys are not functioning properly...like nothing...
     
  4. Fellipe

    Fellipe

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Then Try use an External keyboard
    Is the keyboard responding at all? are some commands responding or all the commands ..
    If not all commands then try use a different keyboard
     
  5. frenshaw

    frenshaw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    First KB was Dell USB...Second KB was HP(and it has a FN key but still no response to any strokes...
    I never get a chance to type...it starts out with a spinning bar and I see "DHCP" in the text string...
    eventually, I get the msg exiting boot utility and it gives me the std choice boot up menu for a previous abnormal shutdown.
     
  6. frenshaw

    frenshaw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    The Arrow Keys work to select my boot choice...SAFE BOOT starts a series of executions scrolling and then it hangs...if I choose boot normally, I get the xp logo and a bit later it disappears and then it hangs.
    I may just put the HD in a drive cage and pull the data off it that way...and recycle the old machine.
     
  7. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gateway generic manual for a 500? says hold down the F1 key while booting
     
  8. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,704
    That is probably your best solution!
     
  9. frenshaw

    frenshaw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    SALUTE! The answer I was looking for...HOLD DOWN F1 KEY DURING POWER-UP TO ENTER BIOS...
    Still...unable to complete the transition to a COMMAND PROMPT...I WILL RESEAT THE MEMORY AND TRY ONE MORE TIME...THEN IT WILL BE A DRIVE CAGE ACTIVITY...
    THANKS FOR YOUR HELP...
    FRANK
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1216707

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice