Boot.ini

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Am trying to install (well tried twice actually, 2 different partitions) XP dual boot with 98SE......

Now when computer starts, even though I've reformatted one partition with the bad XP install, I still get two XP choices, and my 98 choice for my boot menu........

Probably easy, but it's been a long day, and I'm too tired to search...........how do I get rid of the 'wrong' XP boot option? :confused:

Thanks! ;)
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Msconfig>Boot. ini tab

Click the "Check All Boot Paths" button.

It will let you know that the entry is invalid and allow you to remove it.
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Thanks for the reply Mo.....I'm assuming that is from within XP......(I'm still having hardware issues too :mad: )
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Yes. There are other ways too. It's just the easiest. Hardware issues? Sorry to hear it.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2002
Messages
256
I had exactly the same bizarre behaviour after formatting/ reinstalling W2k on a dual boot machine.

I cured it by going into the boot .ini file and (after a few attemts to find which was the 'real' W2k) I deleted the erroneous reference in there.

I now let boot magic deal with it all as my MBR is shot to [email protected]

Cheers.
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Thanks for the replies....I got it taken care of, only one XP choice now, used Mo's suggestion.....but now have bigger problems....computer was off this morning.....won't come back on........grrrrrr........no lights, just cpu, power supply and interior case fans.........

I remember seeing some warning on the second or third bootup with XP about hardware issues and shutting down to avoid damage? What's with that? I've never seen an operating system create serious hardware problems.....other than not working.....

I'm beginning to hate XP........ :mad: :mad:
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Can you get into the BIOS? Maybe reset it to defaults? Have you tried another hard drive? Changed RAM? etc. You are more Hardware than I am. Without the error messages it's hard to say what damage was done.

And you can't even boot to 98 now or use the computer at all?

Before you installed XP, did you run the Upgrade Advisor on the XP CD from the Win98 installation ?
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Originally posted by Mosaic1:
Can you get into the BIOS? Maybe reset it to defaults? Have you tried another hard drive? Changed RAM? etc. You are more Hardware than I am. Without the error messages it's hard to say what damage was done.

And you can't even boot to 98 now or use the computer at all?

Before you installed XP, did you run the Upgrade Advisor on the XP CD from the Win98 installation ?
Nope, can't access bios.........will try to clear with jumper (thanks for that reminder cj) but I'm beginning to suspect a power supply failure......

Pulled ram, changed ram etc......error messages? what error messages :D :D Lol, I didn't like what I saw, so I allowed the computer to reboot....all was happy when I went to bed last night :mad:
Nope 98 won't boot either, nothing, no beeps, nada.........
Update Advisor....hehe, what's that? :p I pulled the one ISA card to avoid conflicts, unplugged my USB hub, plugged in my trusty PS/2 mouse, and everything else is onboard.........
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,424
Originally posted by Mosaic1:
For anyone who is considering buying XP, they can actually download the big fat huge Upgrade advisor file (31.7 MB)and run it on their current system before they invest in XP.
FWIW, I've found that XP installs on old and moldy hardware much easier than W2K, though I prefer W2K for the speed. Microsoft did do a lot of work to make XP run on almost anything, I put it on an old AT style MB with one of the early AMD 400mhz processors, ISA sound board and modem, and an ancient video board. Everything was recognized by XP, and I didn't even have to load any drivers! I was pretty surprised, because that hasn't been my experience with old hardware and W2K. :)
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Originally posted by johnwill:
FWIW, I've found that XP installs on old and moldy hardware much easier than W2K, though I prefer W2K for the speed. Microsoft did do a lot of work to make XP run on almost anything, I put it on an old AT style MB with one of the early AMD 400mhz processors, ISA sound board and modem, and an ancient video board. Everything was recognized by XP, and I didn't even have to load any drivers! I was pretty surprised, because that hasn't been my experience with old hardware and W2K. :)

Yeah, rub it in :mad:

Still waiting for the power supply to be tested...........fingers crossed that is all that is wrong :mad:

Good thing I have back up machines :p
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Well, an update.....after waiting too long for the power supply to be tested, I ripped everything out of the case and hooked up the minimums outside the case.......still nada.....

put another power supply in......still nada....shorted the cmos jumper pin and finally got a boot with new power supply....retested old power supply....worked as well.....loaded into Windows 98 without a problem.

Tried to load XP and that's where the fun began.....a message about needing to check the drives....it checked, checked, and checked some more, replaced a bunch of files......finally got to the XP screen (which I'm beginning to really hate by the way) for it to cry about being in a safe/protected mode startup, or whatever they call it in XP.....do you want to save it or revert back.....so I chose to save it......restart....ok, fine.....now I have the same stupid boot menu with the one wrong XP choice that Mo helped me get rid of......went back to get rid of it the same way, and pretty much the same stuff over again.....except this time it didn't take as long to scan the hard drive replacing whatever files were supposedly messed up......

ARGH.....should I just reformat and start over...........help, I'm almost in tears, and that takes a lot............ :mad:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top