Boot Problem with Win XP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Stingrey

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2003
Messages
3
HELP!
I'm having a problem booting up my computer when I turn it on after being off for more than a few minutes. It started out of the blue about three weeks ago. When I turn on my PC it will shut down and restart several times before it ever gets to the login screen. It will restart anywhere between 2 - 10 times before it gets stable. Many of the times that this happens I would get a screen that says the following:

We apologize for the inconvenience, but windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might have caused this.

If your computer stopped responding, restarted unexpectedly or was automatically shut down to protect your files and folders, choose LAST GOOD CONFIGURATION to revert to the most recent settings that worked

If a previous start up attempt was interrupted due to a power failure or because the power or reset button was pressed, or if you aren’t sure what caused the problem choose START WINDOWS NORMALLY

I've tried several things including reformatting the drive and reinstalling Windows XP but it still happens. Once i login everything is ok, but I'm afraid of turning it off and one day not being able to get in it at all. All the restarts can't be good.

HELP! I don't know what else to try and Gateway is no help.

Here's some info about my PC you might want or need:
Gateway Select 1000 PC (2 1/2 years old)
AMD Athlon 1000MHz
40GB 7M Ultra ATA Hard Drive
Upgraded from Win ME a year ago
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Messages
104
Go to system properties, advanced, startup and recovery, settings and untick the box for automatic restart.
 

Stingrey

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2003
Messages
3
Thanks greengeek, I tried what you suggested but unfortunately it did not work. It still goes through multiple shut downs and restarts before getting to the login screen. Is there anything else you can suggest?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Messages
104
Sounds like it might be a hardware problem. The first thing I'd do is clean out all the dust and reseat all the cards and cables, sometimes that's all it takes.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
1,241
Hi stingrey, and welcome to TSG.. :)

This happened to a friends machine. It's still not 100% but the reboots were cured. Could you go through the multiple boots until it becomes stable and then please download 'Hijack This!' from http://www.spywareinfo.com/files/hijackthis.zip Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan". When the scan is finished, click "Save Log", and copy and paste it in a reply.

This will give us a rundown of what’s going on in your PC. One of us here will be glad to analyse it for you. The entry that I'm hoping to find will look something like

F1 - win.ini: load=load=load=
(one load for each of the times it boots)

Don’t fix anything yourself yet, as a lot of the stuff on that list will be harmless or required. :)

Cheers

Liam
 

Stingrey

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2003
Messages
3
Thanks guys for your advice.

I cleaned out the dust & checked the connections - no change

I downloaded that program hijackthis and this is what I got:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 9:26:36 PM, on 10/6/2003
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Creative\SBLive\AudioHQ\AHQTB.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\devldr32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Rey\Local Settings\Temp\Temporary Directory 1 for hijackthis.zip\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://newyork.mets.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/index.jsp?c_id=nym
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Speed racer] C:\Program Files\Creative\PlayCenter\CTSRReg.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AudioHQ] C:\Program Files\Creative\SBLive\AudioHQ\AHQTB.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\Updreg.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37897.4998148148

Does that tell you anything Liam?

Someone else suggested that it might be the power supply.

I was able to write down some info from the battery supply casing. Here's what I have:

Gateway Newton Power Supply
Model - NPS-250CBA
Output 250 W Max

specs at http://www.alancomputech.com/6500525.html

Do you think the power supply is going bad?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top