Boot-up failure

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Neilapetra

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
7
Sorry i cannot download & run the recommended TSG SysInfo as my laptop is not working but I will do my best to provide system info.

Laptop is a HP dv6130us Pavilion (P/N RG371UA) running Windows XP Media center edition. It has an Intel Centrimo duo core processor (T5200) 1.66GHz,2mb L2 cashe microprocessor (P/N 436157-001), Intel 945 Gm chipset P/N for the original is 434723-001, 1024mb DIMM,120G 5400 RPM SATA harddrive (P/N 431407-001 which I believe gets replaced with P/N 590737-001).

I am not able to boot up. When I turn the computer on there is power & lights, the fan goes and the optic drive looks for a disk. It sounds like the system tries to boot but then nothing, there is only a black screen (not blue, no flashing white dash, no error message, no beeps or ticking sounds...)

I have tried the following- hard reset, reseating memory cards & hard drive, disconnecting the CMOS for a day & running recovery disk. Alas all to no avail ;(

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I was hoping it was a windows problem but think maybe the BIOS is corrupt or the mother board is shot. If I need to order a new system board I could use advise with getting the proper replacement part (ideally an upgrade) as cheaply as possible, I would love to get the Mac pro and am saving for that so for the time being I do not want to spend money on another computer until I can afford the one I want which is why i'd like to get this HP working again.

Thanks very much for reviewing this post and for any ideas you may have!
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
shine a strong light onto the screen and see if you see anything
 

Neilapetra

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
7
I cannot see anything, screen is pitch black. I've also tried using f8 & f10 when turning the system on these functions are not working.
 

Neilapetra

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
7
Is there a possibility that the bios is corrupt and not the system board? would there be a way to test this? Thanks
 

Neilapetra

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
7
I had disconnected the wire of the cmos and left it off for a day (I didn't want to force the battery itself off as it seemed to be stuck on) is that not equavilant to a reset?

I could download the utility from this computer i have on loan and burn it to a disk but I don't think it will run on my system, i can't even get the rescue disk to run
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
xrayfishx

please start your own thread for your own problems

although problems may appear the same,they have a habit of going in different directions
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
xrayfishx
I have removed profanity from your last post. Please be more careful when posting. There are lots of other more socially acceptable terms to use when describing your frustration

Even though you appear to have the same problem, we can only assist 1 person at a time in a help thread. Otherwise replies get confusing & conflicting. Please keep an eye open on the topic & see if a solution is found that might be relevant to you,
 

Neilapetra

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
7
Hi there Dai, Happy New Year!
Thanks for posting those links. I downloaded the SeaTools for Windows from the link and burned it onto a cd, when I try to run it on my computer it doesn't run. Any next steps?
 

Neilapetra

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
7
Update: o.k. I downloaded and burned with imgburn. It would not run. tried the same with the hd makers diagnostic tool & with seagate's tools for dos, same result...
I also connected external speakers to see if there would be any beeps heard that way, none. Lastly I inserted the hard drive into an external case and connected it to another computer where i was able to see the partition that contain the computer files. Because of that I do not think that this is a hd problem.

On another note if I cannot fix my computer I will be saving for a 2012 macbook pro 15" yould you know of a compatable Internal dvd drive that reads blue ray & has lightscribe or lableflash capabilities?

Thanks again!
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
try running them from a usb stick

do a google search for a drive offering the specs you are looking for
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
you may be able to slave it in another computer to run the check

but you will need a 2 1/2 to 3 1/2 converter cable
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top