1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

boot up fine then computer loses all power

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by dennismac, Sep 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dennismac

dennismac Thread Starter

I have some computer knowledge, but I am not good at trouble shooting problems.
    I boot up computer without any problem and I begin to use any program. (I have tried several, so I do not think the programs are causeing my problem.) After about 2 or 3 minutes of using any program right after I boot up the computer, the computer shuts down. The computer does not shut down like a normal compute would. The shut down is similar to someone pulling the CPU's plug out of the wall. All power is loss to the computer.
    I thought the computer was overheating so I removed the cover and used a fan to blow air on the inside of the computer. After about 10 minutes, I pluged the computer back in and it booted properly, but after 2 or 3 minutes the computer shut down again (all power lost).
    I have been downloading software programs for the past 3 days. But I can not run the Norton Anti-virus software that came with the computer because the computer does not stay on long enough for me to try.
    I am working with win 98 on an ibm aptiva 600MHz purchase new in 1998(?)

2. Styxx

Styxx Banned