1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Booted every 2hrs and 38 mins

Discussion in 'Networking' started by wguido, Jan 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    I am on a wireless router, and for some reason every 2 hours and 38 minutes it resets (I get kicked offline). Even when I was on just a regular router it did it. Why? And how can I stop this from happening? I use Windows XP and I have a D-Link Router and wireless card.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Do all the machines get disconnected? Are you being disconnected from local networking, or just the Internet?
     
  3. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    I am not sure about the other comps, and it is just the internet
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Are you the only machine using the wireless router? If not, the "other" machines I was talking about would be the other users.
     
  5. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Everyone is plugged into the router, and I dont know if they get kicked off or not.
     
  6. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    If your network is using DHCP check the lease timeout.
     
  7. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    What is that, and how do I check it?
     
  8. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    You have to access the router configuration. Most of them have a web interface you can access by typing it's eternet address into your web browser. There should be a DHCP screen there.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The DHCP lease length shouldn't affect a properly functioning workstation. For testing, I've set the lease time on my network to 1/2 hour, the shortest length possible with my router, there was no noticable difference. Since a properly operating DHCP client should request a lease renewal automatically when 1/2 the lease time is up, it's hard to imagine the DHCP lease doing this...
     
  10. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    WHat sort of broadband connection do you have? If it is DSL, is it running PPPoE?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115055

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice