1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

bootie all the time ?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wolfie, Apr 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wolfie

    wolfie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    hello i have problem with my compaq presario 6000 computer,its only 1 year old
    but it should no better than to keep rebooting its self just out of the blue?
    ive had this problem with an older computer and it was a bad power pack&fan
    but my new machines fan only runs win it first reboots.when it was first out of the box i could here the fan come on every so often.
    so i gess my question is if i have a thermo fan is there a way to ajust it or
    is the problem a bad power pack?
    i down loaded a program that tell case temp&fan speed &voltage frompower pac
    it shows 0 rpm for fan but -voltage shows 1.6
    can anyone help, am i looking in the right place
    thank you wolfie
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Are the fans spinning at all and if so are they staying on..If they aren't spinnning or are not remaining in operation then they will need to be replaced before further damage is caused.
     
  3. wolfie

    wolfie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    i just took a look in side,i have 3 fans and there all running but not real fast.so maybe my booting problem is somthing else?
    thanks for the come back
    wolf
     
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    What operating system wolfie ?
     
  5. wolfie

    wolfie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    hi mobo
    my operating sys is windows xp
     
  6. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Are you able to bot successfullt into safe mode ?
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    When it reboots, can you pop into the bios setup and check the temps?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/219248

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice