1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Booting issues

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Arkious, May 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Arkious

Arkious Thread Starter

I am new to this so hi all :)

I am having major issues with my laptop, it is an Acer Aspire 6920g and when you press the power button to boot, it gets stuck with just less than a full loading bar with the acer screen for about 5 mins. I have tried disabling the quiet boot to see what it gets stuck on and it doesnt seem to get stuck on anything. after 5 mins it just boots windows as normal.

i got told that it was the hard drive going faulty (that was upgraded to a WD scorpio black 320gb), so i RMA'd it and the new one is doing the same.

please help me as i really dont know what to do... i am clued up with computers so what ever you guys say i will try :D

Thanks for looking!

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    Do you have Quick Boot Disabled in the BIOS?

Also disconnect everything from the laptop and try booting it up. Make sure there's no USB stick , drives, printers or a memory card in the card reader.

3. Arkious

Arkious Thread Starter

thanks for the reply :D

yes i have tried that also :-( whats weird is every so often it will boot within 30 seconds as it should but its like once every blue moon and nothing changes... i use my laptop for home/ gaming use and then take it to the other half's house to do some work every so often too.

it has been going on for 5 month now

4. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
  5. Arkious

Arkious Thread Starter