1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BOOTMGR and Techguys MISSING, HELP!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Zoeena, Dec 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zoeena

    Zoeena Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Hello there,

    I am in desperate need of fixing my Advent 4489 netbook... I recently clicked on a popup which said i had a virus.... truth be told that was a virus and froze me from basically doing anything...including deleting it. I looked on the net and it told me to do something with techguys... and i did, but now it's gone. Whenever i start it up it just sais DEL for setup or f11 for boot menu...no techguys! My product key sticker has also worn off...raah, am so upset! I have no REALLY important documents, so am not bothered about that, i am just desperate for a soulution. Please help.

    I did have windows xp installed

    Yours, Zoe
     
  2. TekTime

    TekTime

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,312
    Hi Zoe...

    Can I ask, what is Techguys?
     
  3. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    We get a lot of "business" from Advent machine owners :D PC World outsources support for Advent machines

    Our site, techguy.org, is not affiliated with the UK one at all.

    Their site has been running very very slowly, but it does eventually work so be patient

    http://www.pcservicecall.co.uk/

    http://support.thetechguys.com/layout.aspx?ID={b30ec085-b1fd-4d43-92b2-3c092f5710e2}&CatID={994684ee-11c8-417b-8eb8-ac6a26367e10}

    That's what you usually can find as the Advent support site......but, try this one instead:

    http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/advent/laptop/4489.htm

    Go down page to Creating a Backup Copy of the Recovery Software
    and also keep going, down page to Running the HDD Recovery


    You also should read up on this Update for the Recovery disk creator tool

    This is not easy to follow, for inexperienced users, it seems that a tech shop might be best for you to get this fixed.....have a look at the end of my post for the Recovery media link if there is no way yuo can create one

    http://support.thetechguys.com/layout.aspx?ID={1a9baf1f-d4c9-4d17-84c0-8fea2c5b303e}&CatID={437a98cd-fcf1-4f37-9b30-819d47d5c1f0}

    I know, the link is not clickable, but that is how it is....just copy and paste it into the address bar, or, click on the link to it at this place: http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/advent/laptop/4489.htm


    LAST BUT NOT LEAST >> http://support.thetechguys.com/layout.aspx?ID={b8ceae69-a4a6-429a-80de-176f5f59b7e8}&CatID={4995d939-ec16-44c2-b90b-736e8206ebad} where I found this link >>>> http://recoverymedia.thetechguys.com/Product.aspx?productID=1076 to purchase Recovery media disk for the Advent 4489

    This part of their site amazingly works a lot faster! Best of luck.
     
  4. Zoeena

    Zoeena Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks so much for replying so quickly! :)

    You've been a great help - thanks for all the links!

    It IS really hard to understand, (i am not computer illiterate at all, really), so am struggling slightly. Would it be best for me just to purchase the disk? Would it ask for a key? (as mine has rubbed off)?

    Or, should i download the drivers onto a memory stick, and get it to re-boot from the stick?


    Thanks again, Zoe :)
     
  5. Zoeena

    Zoeena Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Could i use this... and save it (somehow) to my memory stick, and then plug it into my netbook?

    http://support.thetechguys.com/layout.aspx?ID={81d8d4e1-ea2a-40fd-93e5-2d0bf7bb0eaa}&CatID={727e4988-c3e0-4e87-8729-6ee5906c775a}
     
  6. Zoeena

    Zoeena Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    and... when i press f8, the techguys option doesn't come up, it seems to have vanished from my computer all together.. when i know i had it, at some point, arghh :(
     
  7. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    It's OK, we are not always here, we reply when we can.

    You could use that Backup Utility provided the computer can start up......


    BUT> Do you have this in your list of Programs?? >> Start > All Programs > The TechGuys > TechGuys Recovery

    That is what cannot be found.....it is the Recovery program, and you said it does not work or is not there anymore......

    The backup utility uses it but does not install or contain TechGuys.


    I think the only chance yuo have is to purchase the disk and do a full recovery...... you definitely should have the drivers on hand, download them to a flash drive or what ever you can to save them.

    The Recovery disk will usually also install almost all the needed drivers but of course, not for any hardware you have added yourself, like a printer....

    Shame about the Product Key wearing off....maybe it will not be needed, most OEM Recvoery setups do not require you to type in the Key when you do a recovery. ((With that said, I would be willing to bet, that your Advent does not follow the norm however, we are hoping it does))

    If the computer could start in Normal or even in Safe Mode, the Windows Product Key can be found using a safe legal utility that we can provide to you. If the computer cannot start, the only other solution is to have it's hard drive temporarily read by a different computer ((not a job for a non-tech person at all)) and using the same utility, it can read the product key off your hard drive.......


    The trick is, to actually GET the Product Key first IN CASE you do need it or you will have to spend more money

    Any good tech place can do this for you and a really sharp home tech could as well.
     
  8. Zoeena

    Zoeena Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    & what is the "safe legal utility"?
    ...because i fear that may be the only way

    Thanks again for replying... you are actually amazing! :)
     
  9. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    A Windows Product Key can be displayed on a working computer with this:

    http://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/

    And, the directions to use it to display the Key of a slaved or temporarily installed drive (like yours would be, in another computer, just to get the Key) use the instructions at that page:

    3. Load Hive option same link as above.

    You have to connect your hard drive as a Slave or secondary non-boot drive and the drive has to actually be in working condition in order to spin and be read from. Good luck. If the Key is legitimate and you can find it, you should be able to install the same type of Windows as you have in there now.
     
  10. Zoeena

    Zoeena Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    thank you, will give it a go!
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971454

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice