1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BOOTMGR missing

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Lisalee_58, Sep 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lisalee_58

    Lisalee_58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Hello,

    My husband's comp crashed...he had Win7 Os. Recovery did not work! I tried to reintall Win7 got as far as formatting the hard drive. I then reinserted the cd to reinstall and now all I get as far as "Press any key..." I press a key and "BOOTMGR MISSING" press ctrl + alt + del to restart. Of course this doesn't work.

    I have reset the bios so that cd-rom is the only bootable device. It will not move from the bootmgr missing screen. The cd is a legal bootable copy, the hard drive and dvd player work I have tried them in another comp.

    System Configuration

    gigabyte G41 mobo
    WD hard drive
    Pentium Dual Core Processor
    Samsung Dvd

    Please help...I can't share my laptop with him anymore!

    If any more info is needed feel free to let me know.

    Thanks,
    Lisalee
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Have you tried the Startup repair option using the disk?

    You set in Bios "cd-rom is the only bootable device".

    Try setting the Hard drive as first in boot order now in Bios and save and exit.
     
  3. Lisalee_58

    Lisalee_58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    I did all that...cannot get pass bootmgr missing screen.

    Cannot get to the startup repair option
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    How old is the PC?

    What happens when you say "Cannot get to the startup repair option"
     
  5. Lisalee_58

    Lisalee_58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    The PC is only 3yrs old and like I said...I cannot get pass the BootMgr missing screen...it freezes there

    Thanks
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    So if you have the disc in the cd drive and restart the PC ...you still get BootMgr missing screen

    Either the disc is faulty or is not bootable...make sure you now have the Cd-rom as first device in boot order followed by the hard drive in Bios.

    The disc did boot up at first?
     
  7. Lisalee_58

    Lisalee_58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Tried that put cd-rom as first bootable device then hard drive second and disabled third...got boot from cd...press any key to boot from cd...BOOTMGR missing Press ctrl + alt + del to restart...screen frozen there.

    The disc is good....have used it before and tried it on other computers.
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Understood....even if the Hard drive is toast you should still be able to boot from the CD...is this a laptop and you are using a Recovey disc?
     
  9. Lisalee_58

    Lisalee_58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    No it's a pc and it is an installation disc
     
  10. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Do you have another bootable disc

    If you try that disc in another PC and it works could be the cd drive problems
     
  11. Lisalee_58

    Lisalee_58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    I have tried different bootable discs and tried the cd drive in other comps...also tried other working cd drives in this pc...nothing. All the bootable cd's I tried have worked in other comps including my laptop.
     
  12. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    What does the disc you are using say on it?

    and this is a internal CD drive?
     
  13. Lisalee_58

    Lisalee_58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    It is an internal drive and it is a genuine Microsoft disc...Windows 7 home premium
     
  14. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You could try that disc in another PC and see if it works OK...just to see if it boots from the disc.

    Have you tried to go into bios and set it to default save and exit.

    Also remove all Hard drives and try the disc
     
  15. Lisalee_58

    Lisalee_58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Removed the hard drive and tried the disc the disc worked. Do I need a new hard drive?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1016364

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice