1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Both CD drives quit working

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by cboggs2, Feb 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cboggs2

    cboggs2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    I recently updated the software for my UPS Worldship program using the CD that they sent me and everything was fine.
    My son burned a couple of CD's earlier that same day and both drives worked. The next day I tried to use the CD and I discovered that neither one is working.

    When I go to "My Computer", it only shows the A: and C: drives.
    I restarted the computer and did a search for new hardware but it still does not recognize them. I checked the ribbon and power cables and all is OK.
    Both will open & close and light up when a CD is in them.

    Any Ideas how to fix this problem?

    It is a HP Pavilion 751 n (only about 6 months old) running windows XP.

    Thanks,
    C.J.
     
  2. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
  3. cboggs2

    cboggs2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    I didn't delete any files. All I did is update a program using a CD rom and the updated program works great but now neither of the CD's work.

    I do not know if these are related or not.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You should really check the filters that Bob mentioned, they are the culprit in many "missing CD" cases. Did you check in Device Manager? Is there an error on the CD drive? What is it?
     
  5. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
    Are the drives showing up on the first screen when you boot?
     
  6. cboggs2

    cboggs2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    It seems that I am back where I started. When I updated the UPS program, the error went away and the program worked again but both drives quit working. So I decided to do a system restore and now both drives are working again but my UPS program is giving me the "PLD check" error that I had before I updated the UPS software.
     
  7. marklab

    marklab

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Contact UPS and see if this is a known issue for thier upgrade. Maybe they have a workaround.
     
  8. cboggs2

    cboggs2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    UPS Tech service is a joke. The people that they have on the phones are looking at a flow chart but don't really understand what they are looking at.

    They were no help at all.
     
  9. cboggs2

    cboggs2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    I reloaded the UPS software again and all is working now.

    Thanks for your help.

    C. J.
     
  10. marklab

    marklab

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Glad to hear you got it resolved.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119763

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice