1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

bottleneck

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ohjar732, Aug 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ohjar732

    ohjar732 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    is my amd phenom quad core prossessor bottlenecking my pc cause i seem to be getting some pretty bad fps with a gtx 275 graphics card already checked the drivers and whatnot or could it be my 6 gigs of stock ram ddr2
     
  2. chazshep

    chazshep

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    299
    Be a little more detailed with your posts. What game(s) is this? When you say checked the drivers, have you uninstalled them using the conventional method, then removed the remnance using Driversweeper?
     
  3. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
    What game?
    What results are you getting?

    And no, I doubt the processor is the problem... that 275 is more likely to be saturated then your CPU.
     
  4. ohjar732

    ohjar732 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    well its world of warcraft and on ultra im only getting about 40 fps with my gtx 275 now my friends comp with only a 9800 gt is getting almost 60 fps everywere but he has a faster cpu then me
     
  5. ohjar732

    ohjar732 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    alright i used ur driversweeper all it did was corrupt my drivers and i had to reinstall all of them.
     
  6. rebecca1986618

    rebecca1986618

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
  7. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    Driversweeper is designed to remove drivers, the idea is that you uninstall then run driver sweeper to get rid of any left over files etc. then reinstall. The reason being drivers often don't uninstall totally and left over files can cause problems.

    As for your PC, having just had a look at the specs of the motherboard etc. I would say your RAM could also be a bit of a bottleneck. You have 6Gb which is good (assuming your using a 64bit Operating System) but the motherboard only supports up to 800MHz DDR2 RAM from what I can see, this is probably slowing it down a bit, as the entire system will only run as fast as its slowest component!

    What Operating System are you using?
     
  8. ohjar732

    ohjar732 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    oh any my amd phenom quad core only runs at 2.2 could that be a problem and i recent found out that my motherboard is locked
     
  9. ohjar732

    ohjar732 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    im using vista 64 bit aboutto upgrade to 32 but windows 7
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/941983

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice