1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

bottom right task bar

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by H600275, Jan 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. H600275

    H600275 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    I have windows 2000 proffesonal and i have lots of icons in my bottom right task bar(the one where the time is) i cant seem to delete them Please help me.

    Sincerly, Liam
     
  2. cannrobbo

    cannrobbo

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Hi
    I would go to control panel, task bar and start menu, the cusomise and delete from there

    Cann
     
  3. Mahmud603

    Mahmud603

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    The "Bottom Right taskbar" as you call it is the System Tray and all the little icons in there are the programs running in the background.

    You cannot delete them but you may disable each of the programs by Right clicking them and selecting "Close" or "Exit" from the pop up menu.

    They will be back on the next reboot. To ensure that does not happen, you should open each of the programs and "uncheck" Start or load with Windows from its Options menu.

    You may also disable them by

    Start>>Run and then typing msconfig and clicking OK. Uncheck the program that you do not wish to load with Window in "Start" Tab and OK your way out of the dialogue box.

    You may have to restart and get a warning but you should click on the "Do not remind again" option and those unchecked icons will be there no more.
     
  4. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
  5. H600275

    H600275 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the imput but when i treid going to run and typing msconfig it came up with an error saying "Cannot find the file 'msconfig' (or one of its components). Make sure the file name and path are correct and that all required libraries are avaible." Please help,

    Liam
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114570

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice