1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

bought used computer help

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by greydini01, Oct 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. greydini01

greydini01 Thread Starter

hi I'm a newbie so please b patient with me i bought my son a used computer ,. and 2 weeks later we crashed it I don't know much about "SPECS" but it has windows XP PRO in it and i get a black screen message that says something 2 the effect of systems program cannot b found insert startup disc but unfortunately I did not have the 4-sight 2 get the startup discs and now the guy dummies up when I call him about it

ANY advice would b helpful thank u in advance greydini

2. muppy03

muppy03

First Name:
    Chris
    can you get into safe mode at all?

3. DoubleHelix

DoubleHelix Banned

The exact text of the error might help. What happened before the problem started? Did you install software? Hardware? Change drivers?

Used computers rarely come with installation or recovery disks. At this point it really isn't the seller's problem. You could try going directly to the computer manufacturer and seeing if they'll get some to you.

4. greydini01

um my son is only 7 and im new 2 so im not sure who messed up but he told me he tried 2 download ad aware not knowing it had 2 be ( AD-Aware) so i think it may have opened a virus however i tried 2 download an ITUNES update while i was running ITUNES and that is when it crashed.

5. greydini01

um my son is only 7 and im new 2 so im not sure who messed up but he told me he tried 2 download ad aware not knowing it had 2 be ( AD-Aware) so i think it may have opened a virus however i tried 2 download an ITUNES update while i was running ITUNES and that is when it crashed.

6. DoubleHelix

DoubleHelix Banned