1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Brand new build, fresh install, computer freezes up

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by georgeblack, Dec 30, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. georgeblack

    georgeblack Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Hi, I'm trying to help my very frustrated teenage son with his PC that he's built himself. He's confident that he's bought components which should all be compatible but on running graphically demanding games (and "some" benchmark tests), the computer keeps freezing and requires a hard reset. I'll try to detail the problem as bast I can:


    PC Specifications:

    Motherboard: MSI Z170 TOMAHAWK
    Processor: I5 6600K (3.5 GHz) CLOCKED TO 4.1 GHz
    Cooler: SPC FORTIS 3 v2
    Graphics Card: XFX RX480 GTR 8GB
    PSU: CORSAIR VS650 650w
    RAM: KINGSTON 2133 8GB
    SSD: TRANSCEND 128GB SSD
    HDD: WD GREEN 1TB
    Windows 10 Home 64-bit

    Benchmark Tests:
    Prime 95 - runs fine
    FurMark - runs
    Heaven Benchmark - crashes PC after 30secs - 1min (freezes, hard reset required)
    Fallout 4 (any presets between Medium - Ultra) - crashes PC after 30secs - 1min (freezes, hard reset required)

    Some other points to note:

    • The PC always crashes in the same way - a solid colour fills the screen (e.g black, white, orange, brown) and the speakers emit a loud buzz. It is then completely unresponsive and requires a hard reset.
    • This was a fresh installation of Windows 10 and all updates have been installed
    • All drivers for all the components have been updated from the manufacturer's websites.
    • He has tried default settings, overclocking and underclocking the GPU and CPU with no effect.
    • He tried increasing the voltage to the GPU a little, with no effect.
    • The PC operates fine browsing the net, watching YouTube, working with documents, etc. It only freezes during more graphically demanding situations, but even then it's inconsistent because FurMark is designed to push the GPU to the max, and it runs fine.
    • The GPU never reaches more than 79 deg C and the processor never over 65 deg C

    I would appreciate any advice. Many thanks.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,191
    First Name:
    Frank
    I've never built a computer and I'm not a hardware/gaming expert, but I'm pretty sure the ones here who are will advise you to get a better quality power supply.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,771
    1. Welcome to Tech Support Guy
    2. You say that you have tried
    however on your spec you post
    be assured please that troubleshooting a problem of this nature can ONLY ever stand a reasonable chance of success when everything is running at default values
    That processor the i5 6600K has a default clock speed of 3.5 and a mx turbo of 3.9GHz, whilst it is an unlocked core indicated by the K and can be further clocked - going to 4.1 is not good practice, and certainly not until you have a stable system to start with.

    Furthermore its max TCase is 64C - Case Temperature is the maximum temperature allowed at the processor Integrated Heat Spreader (IHS).
    https://ark.intel.com/products/88191/Intel-Core-i5-6600K-Processor-6M-Cache-up-to-3_90-GHz

    3. With your Fortis cooler
    https://www.silentiumpc.com/en/fortis-3-he1425/
    it most certainly should NOT be reaching anything like TCase

    4. The CPU is supported fully from BIOS version 1.9
    see compatibility for motherboard
    https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/Z170A-TOMAHAWK.html#support_support
    CPU listing
    If you do not have that BIOS version you should most certainly flash AFTER returning all settings to default and running ram at SPD - serial presence detect- which is default see below for instructions on MFlash

    5. You do not say which Kingston 2133 there are a number
    Again see compatibility for ram on MB - although doubt that is the cause
    DDR4 ram will run at 1.2V SPD

    6. Please consider the above points
    CHECK carefully the seating of the cooler and unless you are absolutely certain of the correct application of the thermal compound I would consider that a strong possibility in view of reported temp of cpu - if the reading is accurate.

    7. BIOS flash
    https://www.msi.com/files/pdf/How_to_flash_the_BIOS.pdf

    8. Finally for this post I thought that XFX card was already factory overclocked at BIOS level by XFX
    Indeed the standard 480 runs at 1120 base 1266 boost
    http://www.amd.com/en-us/products/graphics/radeon-rx-series/radeon-rx-480

    whereas the XFX is OC to 1338MHz

    If I am correct I cannot understand your attempt to increase voltage -
    In fact IMHO you are fortunate that you have not suffered damage to it - depending on increase

    Additionally what case please and what cooling by case fans etc
    MAYBE inadequate case cooling
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2016
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,771
    georgeblack

    So has the information posted been of any assistance please
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,750
    This just jumps out at me;
    The vs series from corsair is for a low pw, basic system only. Even corsair says as such;
    http://www.corsair.com/en-us/vs-seriestm-vs650-650-watt-power-supply
    Attempting to run that pw supply with a rx480 is just asking for a problem. The very first thing I would do would be to swap in a quality pw supply for testing. Good ie recommended brands; corsair [AX, HX, or RM models ONLY] seasonic, FSP [only units with the 5yr warranty] or antec [HCG models ONLY]

    As a simple test, restore ALL bios settings to stock. Pull the video card out and use the onchip video that is part of the 6600k. Test temps and voltages while the system is under a normal load and while loaded to 100% Use either prime95 or IBT for stress testing. Use the msi command center to monitor temps and voltages. Download command center from the support page for your board. Here is a link;
    https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/Z170A-TOMAHAWK.html#support_download

    Post the following; cpu temp, 12V, 5V, and 3.3V values. Do this twice; once under normal load and once while stress testing.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2016
  6. georgeblack

    georgeblack Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you all for your suggestions so far. We're looking into the power supply situation which most people seem to think is the place to start. I'll post our findings asap.

    Thanks again.
     
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,771
    Good luck with it
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1183103

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice