1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Brand new computer problem!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by futbolbjk, Sep 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. futbolbjk

    futbolbjk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Well I just built my first ever computer build with:

    PSU OCZ|OCZ600SXS 600W RT - Retail

    CPU INTEL|C2Q Q6600 2.40G 775 8M R - Retail

    MEM 2Gx2|OCZ DII800 OCZ2RPR800C44GK - Retail

    VGA EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR 8800GT 512M - Retail

    DVD BURN PIONEER|DVR-216DBK 20X % - OEM

    CASE COOLERMAS|CAC-T05-UW BLK RT - Retail

    MB GIGABYTE GA-EP45-DS3L 775 P45 RT - Retail

    HD 500G|SAMG 7K 16M SATA2 HD502lJ % - OEM

    And when i turn the computer on it works and i go into bios. but when i change anything... even the date and time ONLY it goes black and i can't get it to work again without taking out the bios battery thing or clearing the cosmos with something metal. Please help me fix this. Also when i try and not change the bios and just go through it says:

    Boot from CD/DVD:
    Disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter.

    Whats the system disk? what do i insert? i'm so lost and need help badly.



    PLEASE HELP! this is really annoying and i know this will be a great machine if i can just get it to work...
     
  2. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
    System disc would be your Windows disc. Try setting bios to best known config. or set to default
     
  3. Compiler

    Compiler

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,855
    Let the system stay powered up for 15 mins or so.... see if anything else is causing problems. if you can - go to the BIOS setting that lets you monitor the CPU temp and voltage. go there, but don't change anything...

    Your BIOS issue is a new one to me.... If you have a short (metal contact) then it should be far more random. If your CPU is running properly... then its a bad motherboard. Also... try another keyboard. A bad keyboard can cause problems.
     
  4. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    If this is a new build as you say, it sounds like you are trying to use a hard drive with Windows on it already and you cannot do that. You need to install Windows to the hard drive.
     
  5. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,172
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/751488

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice