Brand New PC USB Issue

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Phil_Crane

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
270
Just bought a new pc, emachines e4094. I recently also bought a maxtor external hard drive also brand new, when using the external hard drive i get the following error message saying it can run faster in a usb 2 port. all my ports are usb 2 ports as far as i know, well i should think so seems the pc is brand new out of a shop. can anyone help out please?
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
EDIT: should have looked at the image first - the external harddrive maybe USB 1.1 NOT 2

got to device manager and see if usb has the word enhanced
start>
control panel>
system>
hardware tab>
device manager button>

is the external harddrive usb 2 - ????
 

Phil_Crane

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
270
it says ont he box the external is usb 2.0 & 1.1 compatible

heres a pic of the device manager
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
well thats USB 2 on the device manager
so not sure why you are getting the message
the difference between USB1.1 and 2 is substantial - have you copied files to the HDD and how fast do they copy ???
 

Phil_Crane

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
270
to move a gig it thinks its guna take 127 minutes lol

i have 7 usb ports all usb 2 i have tried them all
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
sounds like the harddisk is 1.1
do you have any other devices - card readers etc ??
 

Phil_Crane

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
270
ya, here is the computers spec.

CPU: Intel® Pentium® D Processor 524 with Hyper-Threading Technology1
(3.06GHz, 533MHz FSB, 1MB L2 cache)
Operating System: Genuine Microsoft® Windows® XP Media Center Edition 20052
Chipset: ATI® RC410
Memory: 1024MB DDR2 (2 × 512MB)
Expandable to 2GB
Hard Drive: 120GB (7200rpm, 2MB cache)
Optical Drives: 16x multiformat dual-layer DVD±RW drive (up to 8.5GB with dual-layer media)
Write max: 16x DVD±R, 6x DVD-RW, 8x DVD+RW, 4x DVD+R DL, 40x CD-R, 24x CD-RW
Read max: 16x DVD-ROM, 40x CD-ROM
Media Reader: 9-in-1 Digital Media Manager™ (Secure Digital™, Smart Media, Micro Drive, Memory Stick®, Memory Stick PRO, Compact Flash, MultimediaCard, xD-Picture Card™, USB 2.0)
Video: ATI® Radeon® Xpress 200
Up to 128MB of shared video memory
PCI Express slot available for upgrade
Sound: 8-channel (7.1) high-definition audio
Network: 10/100Mbps integrated Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 port)
Modem: 56K ITU V.92-ready fax/modem (RJ-11 port)
Peripherals: Premium multimedia keyboard, 2-button wheel mouse, amplified stereo speakers, USB powered
Ports/Other: 5 USB 2.0 (1 in front, 4 in back), VGA external connector, serial port, parallel port, 2 PS/2 ports (keyboard and mouse), 6 audio ports
Dimensions: 362mm (H) x 184mm (W) x 406mm (D)
Weight: 10.2 kg
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,814
Just some thoughts.

1 Check in the bios and make sure usb 2.0 is enabled. If there is a setting for legacy usb, you might want to change it.

2 Did this system come with the os installed or did you install windows? Have you made sure the chipset drivers have been installed?
 

Phil_Crane

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
270
Everything Was Already Installed Ont He System, I Will Check Bios In A Second
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
317
maybe it's only one cup of coffee yet

shouldn't the device manager say
usb2 if it was installed

also the hard drive box may have weasel
marketing. a usb1 drive is both usb1 and
usb2 compatable and it will only run at
usb1 speeds. are they saying it is usb2
compatable because it will connect to
a port running usb2?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
There are no drivers required, other than the motherboard drivers. However, since it already seems to indicate it has the USB 2.0 drivers loaded, I'm somewhat at a loss.

Have you tried any other USB 2.0 devices to see if this is a universal issue?
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
Its a NEW computer... its newer than SP2, especially with MCE installed.

PhileCrane: I've seen this from time to time... Do check what the others said (BIOS - by pressing F1 or DEL key a few times when you turn it on, it should say on screen anyways) and make sure it SAYS USB2.0 somewhere.

When I see this problem: The front jacks are defective or NOT fully complient to USB2.0 You should be able to PLUG IN the EXT HD into a REAR USB port and NOT have any errors. The rear ports are directly into the mobo... the front ones... well, anything can happen.

Confirm.

If BIOS is good and the rear ports are ALSO having problems, return unit for another... Ext. Drives NEED USB2.0 (Transfer rate is 700mb~1000mb a minute, usually).

If the ONLY the front is bad - and you DID buy the PC from a local PC store - exchange for another unit, but you may want to PLUG that drive into another emachine and make sure its not a design defect. Which case choose something else... They should have AMD64s in the same price range as well.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top