1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bridging Connections To Increase Bandwidth

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zackx, Mar 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zackx

    Zackx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Hey guys, I have 20MBPS cable ethernet connected through my pc's gigabit lan and I have a 6MBPS DSL connection via wifi, is there anyway that I can bridge them to utalize both connections at once? That way I can have a total of 26MBPS.
     
  2. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    I doubt you have a 6MBPS connection, but it's much more likely that you have a 6Mbps DSL and 20Mbps LAN connection.

    That LAN connection is connected directly to your router's LAN port?

    And your question is, is it possible to bridge both connections and get a 26Mbps LAN connection or DSL connection?
     
  3. Zackx

    Zackx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    yes, I want it set so I can utalize both connections at once.
     
  4. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    for LAN or internet?
     
  5. Zackx

    Zackx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Internet
     
  6. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    Let me explain.

    Your LAN connection (The 20 Mbps connection) is your connection to the router. It means you can download off any hosts connected to the same network at that speed (providing their upload speed allows). The router, which I presume is also connected to the internet, gives you a 6Mbps DSL connection.

    No matter what, you're paying for a 6Mbps connection, and that's what you'll get.
     
  7. Zackx

    Zackx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    I think you got it mixed up, I have 2 connectiona a Cable and a DSL the cable is a 20Mbps connection and the DSL is a 6Mbps connection my computer is connected to the cable internet via a lan connection and to the DSL via Wifi I want to bridge the two to utalize both at the same time.
     
  8. IMiteBable2help

    IMiteBable2help

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,094
    You're kidding, right?
     
  9. daniel_b2380

    daniel_b2380

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,392
    zackx,
    info for the uninitiated, :eek:
    one way or another ANYTHING is do-able, :D
    the question then becomes:
    DO YOU R E A L L Y WANT TO PLAY [$$$$$$$] ???
    .
    you can look at dual wan routers,
    we have some PePLink devices that seem to be okay,
    doubt your current hardware would be any use then, :(
    AND, these aren't exactly cheap either,
    so......
    .
    another option,
    there are also load-balancing set-ups,
     
  10. pvc_

    pvc_

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    484
  11. Zackx

    Zackx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    nope
     
  12. Zackx

    Zackx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    ok, I will look into this
     
  13. IMiteBable2help

    IMiteBable2help

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,094
    You're not kidding? OK. good luck with that.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/809540