broadband connection popup won't go away

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jillywilly

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2003
Messages
61
i keep getting a popup box trying to connect me to broadband when i am already connected through wireless.

it was popping up every 10 minutes or so, now it is every few minutes and it kicks me offline everytime it comes up. i tried looking at properties but nothing really helped.

how can i stop it from popping up? thanks
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2003
Messages
1,936
JillyWilly: We'd need more information in order to help you.

If you used to have ADSL directly connected to your computer, and you have replaced it with a wireless router, and are now connected to that, did you removed the ADSL drivers from your computer?

If you changed ISPs, did you remove the old ISP from your network settings?

In other words, what changed?

Courtney
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,928
What Courtney said. Also, are you sure you are not confusing cause and effect? It's not unusual to lose your wireless connection followed by a nag to connect.
 

Everway9

Drew
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
409
Sorry but I'm not too hot on wireless yet. but i'll give it a go anyway!

Does it still disconnect when you have your PC right next to the router?
You could try hard wiring it to the router again to see if it still disconnects then
 

jillywilly

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2003
Messages
61
i've always had wireless on this laptop using a linksys card...something had happened to my friends wireless network where it became unsecured when it was secured before, so we were trying to figure out how i could make my laptop have a secure network. we tried clicking on the network settings, etc, and also just out of curiosity, clicked the broadband icon...obviously it didn't work since i've never been directly connected with a ethernet cable (?) and since then, it keeps coming up asking to connect
 

Everway9

Drew
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
409
If the popup asking you to connect is related to a wired connection and not your wireless connection then there might be a system start up process you could terminate which will disable the popup asking you to connect.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,928
What operating system? Can you show us a screen shot of the popup or at least tell us the exact message?
 

jillywilly

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2003
Messages
61
i have a gateway with xp

this is what keeps popping up..as you can see in the corner, i am connected already through wireless

 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,928
Looks sorta like Tiscali Broadband. As your location is NH I'm sure you don't have Tiscali, but maybe that "Broadband" icon you clicked on has something to do with this. But, sorry, I don't know what it is or how to get rid of it.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
1,710
Let's try this:

Start -> Control Panel -> Internet Options -> Connections (Tab) -> Never Dial a Connection -> Select Ok.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top