broadband connection/speed/pc

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

stuck

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
136
For the past 8 weeks ive had an irritating problem that concerns the internet speeds and the effect it has on my pc.

Each time i connect to the net (512k) it runs ok for a few minutes then the speeds start to slow down. Using online speed tests it showed speeds dropping from 512k to 0.1kpbs.

After 15 minutes of internet use the whole pc would start to slow down. Sounds and music would stammer at this point. Playing online or playing with the internet connected would result in framerates dropping from 150fps to as low as 10 - 15 fps.

The mouse cursor across the screen would also stutter when moving the cursor around the screen.

If i disconnected from the internet everything would return to normal. Only if i logged back on to the internet would everything slow down again.

One example of this was when i tried to download 1mb. It took me over 30 minutes to get it downloaded (356 bytes per sec was last known download speed as opposed to the normal 50 - 60 kbps that im used to).

Internet pages would take as long as 10 minutes to load, normally appearing blank.

Whats causing this and what can be done about it?

My pc spec :-

athlon 2600 +
512mb ddr 333 (both cpu/memory overclocked to 172 fsb (344)
soltek nforce 2 mb
seperate sound card as onboard sound broke down
ati r9600 pro 128mb
seagate 60gb hdd 7200 rpm (data drive)
seagate 80gb hdd 5400 rpm (active partition drive)
16 x dvd
52 x cdrw
samsung broadband modem (usb)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
13
it can be any kind of errors

1) you've downloaded a virus or a trojan. whenever you are online... it connects to the hacker guy and it slows down

2) many people are at home during winter holiday surfing the net

it can be anything...

but most likely... you've downloaded a virus or a trojan horse
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
Please do the following:

In IE go to Tools -> Internet Options -> and delete Files and Cookies.

To check for and remove any Spyware or Adware that may be installed on your machine download, update, run, and fix ALL problems found by either of the above mentioned programs. You may need to reboot and have the scan run at startup. Run it again to make sure all components have been removed. There is also an Immunize in feature in Spybot that should be enabled to protect against some installations of Adware/Spyware.

Ad-aware and Spybot:
http://spywareinfo.com/downloads.php?cat=sp#det

To check for a virus please visit one of the following sites for a free online virus scan. Even if you a virus scanner installed, this one gives you a second opinion, and it will be up-to-date which yours might not be.

Symantec:
http://securityresponse.symantec.com

Trend Micro:
http://housecall.trendmicro.com

If you do not currently have and antivirus program install; try AVG from www.grisoft.com – it is free.

If you have Kazaa, it has to go. Uninstall through ADD/REMOVE PROGRAMS in Control Panel then use Kazaa Begone to remove it completely. Kazaa is full of Spyware and spreads viruses. All file-sharing programs cause a multitude of problems and promote illegal sharing of information.

Kazaa Begone:
http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/index.html

Then post a Hijack This Log to have someone analysis it for further cleaning/recommendations.

Hijack This:
http://spywareinfo.com/downloads.php?cat=sp#det
 

stuck

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
136
Thanks for the help guys. I checked for a virus and found 1 virus (W32.Welchia.Worm) and removed it at the symantec site. There were registry errors too, loads of them so i cleared that too.

Gonna check to see how pc responds now to the changes. Will let you know how it goes. I got Kazaa on the other partition as i dont run it on this. Ill clear that partition too. Thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2002
Messages
1,629
Get Spybot... I like it over Ad-Aware (which I used for a long time), its a must. And also stick on a firewall... that may also catch trojans that a virus checker may miss... but also, IT lets you know what kind of net traffice you're getting.

Someone could have been using your computer to host warz or porn on whatever on your computer.
 

stuck

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
136
i got spybot and ran the program. its solved the problems i had.

I must admit the info given here is better than anybody else has given me. i was going to purchase a new motherboard. My onboard sound went on the blink and i thought the problem i had may have had to do with my sound chip.

Tech support staff on phones, engineers etc didnt help proper.

Thanks for the help, much appreciated.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top