broadband device not detected

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tiregirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
13
i have a home computer. windows xp. i have a virgin mobile broadband chip that i have always been able to plug n to the usb slot on bck of computer and it pulls up the internet with no problems. i tried to get on the internet and it keeps telling me that the device isnt detected. i troubleshot,lol. and windows tells me to go to control panel, network connections, LAN or high-speed internet, the problem is i only see 3 g and local internet connection, please help me!
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
with the USB device connected can we see a device manager screen shot

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Device Manager
Post back the results in device manager
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

windows key and pause Key should open to allow device manager to be seen on laptops may need to use windows key + FN key + Pause Key
if not then

Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
windows 7
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
are there any ! ? or X


post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2008
Messages
1,862
How are you connecting now?
Do you have any other way to hook the problem computer to the internet? Ethernet, maybe?
Access to another computer with a working internet connection?


3 g should be the VM broadband connection, local internet is usually an ethrenet card.

Right click on the 3 g connection and click Repair in the popup window to see if Windows can fix it or give you an error message.

Open Device Manager:
If you have My Computer on your desktop right click on it, or click Start, then right click My Computer.
In the popup list click Manage.
In the left pane of the window, click Device Manager under System Tools.
Click the + next to Network Adapters to expand that list.
What items are listed? Any yellow circles/triangles with an "!" next to them?
Also check to see if there are any yellow markers for other items in the Device Manager.

You can make screenshots to post here instead of typing everything..
To make and save a picture of the present screen
Hold the Alt key down and hit the PrintScreen key.
Open Paint (under Accessories) and click Edit, Paste.
Click file, Save and save the picture to My Pictures as a .jpeg image.
If the computer doesn't have an internet connection, save to a USB drive.

To upload it to the forum, open the full reply (Advanced) window and use the paperclip (Manage Attachments button) at top of window. In the small window click the browse button and go to where you saved the screenshot and click on that file. Then click on the Upload button to attach the file.

Would also like to see the results on an ipconfig /all command.

Open a command prompt window, Start, Run, type cmd in the box then click OK.
Type ipconfig /all and hit enter.
Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.
If you don't have a working connection, you can save (paste) into a text file using NotePad or WordPad, then transfer the the text file to another computer with a working internet connection for posting later.
 

tiregirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
13
couldn't pull up the paint app. but under NETWORK ADAPTORS: was this... asustek/broadcom 440x10/100 intergrated controller
 

tiregirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
13
there yellow question marks in OTHER DEVICES: ETHERNET CONTROLLER
, MASS STORAGE CONT. MULTI media AUDIO CONTROLLER, unknown device, i have internet accsess next door to me. running back and forth,lol
 

tiregirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
13
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Christopher>ipconfig/all
Windows IP Configuration
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Christopher>ipconfig/all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : christop-02de55
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : ASUSTeK/Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integra
ted Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-18-ED-9D-EE
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
It's not detecting your USB wireless broadband modem. Did you reinstall the drivers for it? Delete it from Device Manager while it's connected?
 

tiregirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
13
i cant get on internet from that computer. cant install drivers can i?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2008
Messages
1,862
Is it the Ovation MC760? Reinstalling might work

Didn't have it plugged in when you checked Device Manager or ran the ipconfig /all?

You might be able to reinstall.

Did some checking and found this discussion at DSLReports on drivers and software for the Ovation MC760.
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r24750800-Virgin-Mobile-MC760-Software-Drivers-Needed

Said the drivers and software are located at Noveltel in the LiteAuto,zip file here.
http://www.novatelwireless.com/content/files/VMU/

This might work.
Download and save the zip file folder to a USB drive using another computer.
Copy the zip file folder on your computer"s desktop..
With the adapter plugged in, right click on the folder and select Extract.
This will create another folder with the extracted files.
Go into the folder with the extracted files and click LiteAuto. exe.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
i cant get on internet from that computer. cant install drivers can i?
Yes, you can. You're on the internet now if you're able to post here. Download the drivers, save them to a USB flash drive, and install them on the other computer.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top