1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

broadband woes; wireless BB ISPs? list?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by TypeSK, Sep 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TypeSK

    TypeSK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    676
    ok, question, is there a site on the internet that will list all the broadband internet providers in a city? i live in las vegas, and it seems that broadband is only offered by Sprint DSL, or Cox Cable internet ... but i just found Keyon , which is a wireless broadband internet ISP, and only $25/mo ... only to find it not available where i live (*******s) ... so i was wondering what else is out here in vegas ... tried searching to no avail ..... is there any page that will have a list for a city or whatever ?

    cuz being i dialup SUCKS

    i used to have cable internet..and was good for awhile, then alot of woes

    it was installed on a home network. Cable modem plugged into the 3Com wireless router (NAT enabled). it would be hardwired into the main computer, and the others were on via wireless NIC.

    then one day, it just stops working. nothing works, no internet on any computer. i call Cox, and they say nothing is wrong. i plug the cable modem directly to the computer, and it works. it just doesnt work when connected to the router. Cox just says something must be wrong with the router. i think thats a bunch of bull, as i get a new router, same model, and it still doesnt work.

    have any ideas what might be causing this?

    grr, any help would be appreciated, for either of the above matters
     
  2. skyman

    skyman

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,234
    Go to google and type in "broadband Las Vegas"...
     
  3. TypeSK

    TypeSK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    676
    good answer .... considering i already tried that and got nothing but sprint DSL, cox cable, and "check DSL in your area" ;)
     
  4. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    Did you change anything, like add a firewall in the mix? Is it one machine that will not connect or all the machines in your home network? I assume you have tried unplugging both the router and the modem for about a minute?

    If it works without the router, is there a chance the routers are both bad?. Any chance the settings in either your router or computer are changed somehow? Just some random thoughts.
     
  5. TypeSK

    TypeSK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    676
    i tried everything ... nothing was changed.. just one morning it stopped working...bought a brand new router...was weird...dont know
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168676

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice